Author Toolbox Blog Hop

Making Free Promo Graphics (Author Toolbox Blog Hop)

If you are on the look out for ways to create free promo graphics for your books, then I have a few free sites for you to use for finding templates and free stock images.

Canva

My go to app is Canva. You can use the website on your desktop or download the app on your phone. (I much prefer to use my phone.) There are many free templates and images to use on Canva, and some premium images and templates that you can purchase if you wish.

I use Canva for everything from book covers and social media headings to promo graphics. It really is an easy to use site that you should check out for free.

Here are some graphics I made on Canva:

Note: any promotions featured in these images are now void.

Free Stock Images

As I mentioned, Canva does offer some free stock images, but if you need a larger range of free images that are not copyrighted, head over to Pixabay. Simply enter the image / theme you require and search their thousands of images.

Another site with free stock images is Pexels. WordPress use a lot of Pexels images in their media library. It is worth checking out the free images before opting to buy.

Stock Images (Not Free)

If you are still unable to find the perfect image, there are other stock photo sites to use that have a much wider range of images at a small cost:

Tips to remember when making your own graphics:

  • You mustn’t use copyrighted images without permission.
  • Research other promo graphic ideas in your genre to get a feel for what works.
  • Do not mislead your audience. Trading standards still apply.

You can check out the other #authortoolboxbloghop participants and their posts here.


Content belongs to KJ Chapman

8 thoughts on “Making Free Promo Graphics (Author Toolbox Blog Hop)”

  1. I use Canva and Bookbrush. Like Canva they have a free and paid option and I like having some variety. Depositphotos is another stock site to check out and Appsumo (think that’s the name) runs deals every so often where you can get like 100 images for $50 and the images never expire.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Canva, and use it for so many of my graphics requirements.. it’s an obvious first choice for things like social media images, especially with all of their templates. But I also use it for images that I incorporate into my nonfiction books. I don’t know what I’d do without it. They’re one of the good guys! Offering so many fonts and images and templates for free. Thanks for your #AuthorToolbox this month KJ.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment