CampNaNoWriMo July 17

Camp-2017-Winner-Facebook-Cover

I am a CampNanoWriMo winner, and with eleven days to spare. Although my planned project was editing 50 pages of Zombie Playlist, I also wrote 10k of The Red Archer.

My experience of CampNaNo this month was a little different than previous ones. Not because I was editing instead of drafting, but because I opted to be placed in a public cabin. For every other CampNaNo, I have joined or created a cabin of writer buddies; writers who are already in my networking circle via social media. The chat forum and encouragement was what kept me motivated and made the experience what it was. I purposely joined a public cabin to meet new people and discover other like minded writers. Yeah, well, it fell a little flat. On the whole, my cabin was a quiet one. Days went by without a response to one of my comments. In the end, I would check weekly for any updates. I shan’t be checking in now I have completed. That is the first and last time I join a public cabin if I can help it.

What are your experiences with public cabins? I’m sure many are lively and fun, and I’m sure the writers in my cabin were just busy meeting their word count goals, but I like a good chat. I sound like a pestering nag, I know.

talk to me

Anyhoo, I thought I’d share some of the music I have been listening to during the editing process of Zombie Playlist. I kept the editing music separate from the actual playlist in hopes of keeping it fresh.

Shall I share an excerpt from The Red Archer? Okay, you twisted my arm.

“Kin, sing us a song,” calls Cray from the far side of the room. Stave and Imma drink with him, discussing trades and stashes.

There is a chorus of agreement, and I jump on the table, the room spinning a little as I do so. “The Girl of the Ocean,” I bellow to the lute player, raising my tankard into the air. This one always gets them singing.

Did you participate in CampNaNo this month? I hope you had a productive month.


Content belongs to K.J. Chapman

4 thoughts on “CampNaNoWriMo July 17

  1. I haven’t tried public cabins but I don’t think I will, either. I think for something like NaNo I prefer to know the people in my cabin, but I might try it at some point. I’m sorry your first experience didn’t work out :/ Maybe it was just a quiet group? Congrats on reaching your targets so quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. November is always a busy time for me as it’s my daughter’s birthday month. I haven’t decided if I’m joining, yet. I will let you know if I do. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

