June Reads Round Up

book-review1

ARC Unsanctioned Eyes by Brianna Merritt

unsanctionedeyes-ebookFull Review: Unsanctioned Eyes.

I gave this book 5/5. Quinn is an anti-heroine to root for. Her development over the course of the narrative makes the book what it is. The sub characters are effortlessly woven into her story, and the world building is immersive. Well written thriller with a strong female protag.

ARC The Phoenix Cycle by Bob Collopy

35148208Full Review: The Phoenix Cycle.

I gave this book 3/5. An imaginative, dystopian world that has a Hunger Games vibe about it. The narrative felt a little skittish and would benefit from being streamlined.

 

The King’s General by Daphne Du Maurier

6tag_130617-191352Full Review: The King’s General.

I gave this book 4/5. Du Maurier weaves an atmospheric tale of love, war, misery, and mystery. I cannot fault the writing or the character development, but my lost star is for my dislike of Richard Grenvile. I needed more from him to be able to root for the man.

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah. J. Maas

6tag_160617-214625.jpgFull Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses.

I gave this book 5/5. Amazing! Why did I not read this sooner. I loved everything about this book: characters, story, background, worldbuilding. Just read it, folks. My review won’t do it justice.

 

Bernie by Brianna West

6tag_190617-110004Full Review: Bernie.

I gave this book 5/5. The loveable cowboy got his own spin off. Whoop! Another great addition to the Guardian’s world. Steamy romance, strong female heroine, and of course, cheeky Bernie. He has always been ‘laugh out loud’ funny, and continues to be in this book.

 

Hell’s Teeth by James Fahy

6tag_130617-135051Full Review: Hell’s Teeth.

I gave this book 5/5. A vampire book that leaves all the stereotypes, cliches, and tropes at the title page. Excellent world building of a dystopian world where Vamps, GOs, and humans live side by side. A humourous MC, and well crafted sub-characters. This could be a TV series. No, seriously, it totally could.

 


Content belongs to K.J.Chapman

 

Leave a Reply

