EVO Ghost Update 01/06/17

book-review8

In my last update, I had hoped to have finished the remainder of my EVO Ghost draft by June. I fell a little short, but I’m close- real close. I hadn’t bargained on the read-throughs of EVO Nation and EVO Shift taking as long as they did. The read-throughs were important, and I have notes upon notes to keep in mind when drafting/ editing book three.

Another distraction, but an exciting one, was sorting the paperback version of Thrown to The Blue. The full cover was completed, and I gave the document a final check before submitting it for review. Keep your eyes peeled for the paperback release.

A few days ago, I had a break from all things EVO. My mind was being consumed day and night by Teddie’s story, so I took a day off to concentrate on Zombie Playlist. I easily fell back into Dagger’s mindset, and even sorted at least four definite tracks to add to her playlist. Whoop.

What have I been listening to?

Seeing as I have only written on my Zombie Playlist WIP this last week, I shall include one song from the playlist. This is an exclusive, because I NEVER divulge the playlist songs. I tend to keep them secret because each song is a chapter title and compliments the narrative. Are you ready for a sneak peek…

What’s Next?

There is only one thing on my agenda: Finish the first draft of EVO Ghost. Once that is done and dusted, I can have a break from it for a few weeks, and get the cover and blurb reveals out of the way.

I hope to finish the first draft of Zombie Playlist before I dive into the redraft of EVO Ghost. That way, both WIPs get a rest before I go over them with a fine tooth comb. Although, Zombie Playlist is a novella and may be ready for publication before EVO Ghost.

Excerpts:

These are short and sweet. No spoilers.

EVO Ghost:

“Where’d you get it,” I say, holding my numb lip up with my fingers.

“It was in the pocket of a coat that I claimed from the laundry when I first arrived. It may have been through the washer, but its wrapper is still intact. I shoved it in a drawer and forgot about it. I wouldn’t be putting it anywhere near my mouth if it has been through the wash with people’s smalls.”

Zombie Playlist:

If you haven’t eaten Marshmallow Fluff out of the jar using a Curly Wurly, you haven’t lived. Open packets litter the floor around us, and an empty bourbon bottle rolls around on the uneven floor boards. That was the extent of the alcohol supply, but one bottle of bourbon between two light-weights after months on the dry was more than ample.


Content belongs to K.J.Chapman

7 thoughts on “EVO Ghost Update 01/06/17

  1. Love the excerpts! I’m getting really excited for Zombie Playlist (and of course for EVO Ghost), and I love that you name each chapter after the song that’s helped you write it ❤ Such a clever idea! Go Kay! 😀

    I feel your pain. I was hoping to have made more progress on Wardens of Archos by now, but there were so many other things going on that I'm not quite where I wanted to be. I've got plenty of time to catch up now, though, so I'm not worried 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the excerpts Kay! And Cage the Elephant is a brilliant group! Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked is one of their best too! I love how your tying in songs with each chapter!
    Best of luck with the rest of EVO Ghost!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

