EVO Ghost Update 05/05/2017

book-review8

Whoo, what a month April was. I did complete CampNaNo, but I couldn’t post an update due to having broadband issues for 10 days!! Yep, I was having withdrawal. Any hoo, I am back with a bang, hence the flood of book reviews I have posted.

CampNaNoWriMo

I reached 25k with a few days to spare. It was touch and go for a little bit, but I slogged through it and came out a winner. Whoop! What does this mean for EVO Ghost? Well, I thought I would be close to finishing, and I am 25k closer, but I think there is another 20k left until I can sign off on the first draft. I can see light at the end of the tunnel now, and Teddie has told me how this will play out, so I’m all guns ablazing.

Muse-ic

I had good fun tweeting daily muse-ic inspiration throughout CampNaNo, so I plan to continue along a similar thread. In these posts I will include a favourite track of mine that I have been writing along to. First up, Katy Perry’s Rise. This song sums up Teddie at the moment. I can’t stop listening to it because of her. There is even a line that perfectly captures her…

‘Can’t write my story. I’m beyond the archetype.’

Yep, yep, and yep. This is how I feel about writing Teddie’s story most of the time. I hope I do her justice in EVO Ghost.

There is another, more emotional, line that puts a lump in my throat…

‘I call on my Angels. They say, ‘Oh, ye of so little faith.”

Those of you who have read the first two will know who Teddie’s angels are. *Sob*

What’s next?

I will continue on with the first draft. I hope to have another 20k written by June, but I may be punching above my weight with that target. When the first draft is done and awaiting a redraft, I shall do a cover reveal. I have had this cover ready since last year- nearly a whole twelve months ago to be exact. I’m itching to show you all the final cover in the series.

Excerpt

I’m having to be really picky with these excerpts because I’m worried about spoilers.

“Impartial counsel time,” he states. I nod my head, blinking back tears. “Do not go into this mission with revenge as your motivator. Justice is what you seek, and fighting for justice will hold you steady. Justice for those who have suffered, those you have lost, is more satisfying than revenge.”

“I don’t see the difference.”

“You will when and if the time comes. Justice will ensure that you can live with yourself after all of this.”


Did you partake in CampNaNo last month? Do you have a writing playlist? Drop me a comment!


Content belongs to K.J.Chapman

Save

6 thoughts on “EVO Ghost Update 05/05/2017

  1. I’m amazed at your restraint! I’ve only had my cover for a few days and I’m dying to share it with people! AND I’ve already shared it with my newsletter subscribers because I had to show someone! How did you go a whole year without showing it off? *bows*

    I know what you mean, I feel a little like I’m punching above my weight, too. I really want to have this draft wrapped up before we go on holiday in June, but there’s so much to do before I can be happy with it! I hoped to apply all the developmental changes and send it to betas by the middle of June, but now I think I’d rather read over everything again first… At least it’ll be in pretty good shape by the time I publish it 😉

    Well done for completing Camp NaNo! I’ll definitely join you again in November 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the update, Kay! Best of luck powering through the last of this first draft.
    You really sucker punched me with that Katy Perry line… 😢
    Can’t wait for that cover reveal. I’m sure it’s amazing!!
    Take care 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, last I remember, you were talking about being stuck in Ghost (or am I just remembering wrong). I’m glad to see you got through that and are proceeding like a champ.

    Yes, I know I’m about 19 days late to the party here, since this post is dated for the 5th, but that’s me: always late and never sure why. Haha!

    Great song choice, by the way. Katy Perry is always a winner. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you. I took a break from Ghost last year to write Thrown to The Blue, but I’m very nearly finished the first draft now. I’m currently having a read through of EVO Shift before writing anymore to ensure I tie up all the loose ends.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

