Guest Post: Naming Characters

Brianna Merritt has kindly hosted me on her wonderful blog. Pop over to gain insight into my process for naming characters. And while you’re there, why not click that follow button. You won’t be disappointed.

Brianna Merritt Writing

kayleigh-chapman



Today I have a fabulous treat for you! I’ve asked the wonderful writer Kayleigh to share her insights and inspiration on finding the perfect name for any character. 

Thank you to Brianna for having me guest post on her wonderful blog. When Brianna asked me what I might be interested in writing about, I had just been questioned by a fellow writer about how I choose character names. The timing was great, and I hope this post is helpful in some small way.

Many moons ago, I put together a check list of eight important factors to consider before naming a character. The following tried and tested steps have not failed me, yet.

Gut instinct: Always and foremost go with what feels right. A perfect name is only perfect because it feels that way to the author, and hopefully, the reader.

Google it: Run all possible name combinations through…

View original post 439 more words

Leave a Reply

