Picture Prompt

monthly-reads-roundup

Today’s picture prompt was taken at a National trust estate in Cornwall. Just after I took this picture, we had to climb down the slippery, leaf covered embankment. I asked my daughter to hold my hand, and she refused, claiming ever so politely that she would hold her Daddy’s hand because Mummy is the best at slipping over.

I invite you to have a go at writing a sentence or paragraph to accompany it. You can find me on Instagram by following this link.

If you do not have an Instagram account, but would like to join in, you can post your sentence/ paragraph in the comments, and I will feature them in the next Picture Prompt post right here on my blog with links back to you.

Picture Prompt:

K.J. CHAPMAN.png

I stand back from the swamp, watching the men from a distance. One calls out in elation and plunges his hands into the green, murky water. The rest wait patiently, the tension prickling the air around us. Daring to creep closer, I crawl on all fours to the embankment. He withdraws a small chest from the depths. It looks ancient, just like the key I found on the bank yesterday.

“Don’t open it,” one man warns. “It must only be opened by the heir.”

“We don’t know where to find her,” the man replies, turning the chest in his hands.

“Yes, we do. She’s hiding over there.”


Content belongs to K.J. Chapman

4 thoughts on “Picture Prompt

Leave a Reply

