Pet Peeve

musings(1)

My pet peeve has been slowly growing of late. So much so that I decided to blog about it. The stem of my annoyance is articles, blog posts, writing books etc telling me what way is the right way to write. Let me explain: I appreciate informative pieces that advise writers of a certain style ie plotters or pantsers on some techniques to help with the process, but I do not like posts that say, Why you MUST plot your novel! or Why you should NEVER plot your novel. Or even worse…Do You Have Bad writing techniques?

Urgh! Please! Writing is a creative art form and with all creative artforms there is no one way and definitely no right way to do it. I’m a pantser, and although that is how I roll, I do not expect every one to be comfortable with this drafting style. If I write a piece about my writing process, I hope it would be informative, but not dictatorial.

“There are no laws for the novel. There never have been, nor can there ever be.”
—Doris Lessing

My advice to all writers is to keep getting those words down and stories finished in the way you feel is most comfortable and enjoyable to you as an artist.

i have a permit.gif


Content belongs to KJ.Chapman

GIF sourced from GIPHY.COM

14 thoughts on “Pet Peeve

  1. Well said! Everyone has their own way of writing. There are so many opinions circulating about what a good story is and how one should write it. People are entitled to do what works for them, but I don’t believe there is a perfect way. There’s such an intention to boil this art down to a science, to create a formula that it stops being art. It seems to work against the flow of creativity.
    Keep writing you stories the way that works for you. Because they are beautiful and well told. ❤

    Like

  2. Preach it, sister! I agree, whether you plot or pants should be entirely up to you. I can’t understand how people can just start without anything and pull it off, but go them! More power to you, K! As someone who’s in between – I plot a lot and I pantse a little, and am flexible with change to my plans – I’m not sure how they’d classify me?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

