Creating Antagonists

Here is my first reblog of the next few weeks. I posted this about a year ago and still stand by my methods for creating antagonists…

creating antagonists

I  have settled down to write this blog post with a large, steaming mug of tea, so I must be anticipating it to be either lengthy, time consuming, or both. Bear with me on this.

Yesterday, a reader of my eBook, EVO Nation, shared her enjoyment in my development and portrayal of the main antagonist. Hence, why this blog post idea sprang to mind.

In truth, my antagonist was as much a surprise to me when I was writing it as it must be to the reader experiencing it for the first time. In previous posts, I have explained my lack of planning and outlining when it comes to my first draft, and how this can lead to surprising revelations even for me as the author. When I came to the logical conclusion that a certain character had the motivation and means to be my perfect (surprise) antagonist, I felt sick with betrayal…

View original post 408 more words

One thought on “Creating Antagonists

  1. You made some valid points. I couldn’t agree more. People aren’t a specific way just because. I really like coming up with an antagonist’s back story and finding out how it shaped them to be what they are. Having the reader understand why the antagonists do such things is important. It gives the story depth and just maybe the reader may have some sort of sympathy towards them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

