Review: Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger 3/5

13336329_1194535657264516_1847239243_nA sharp and funny urban fantasy for “new adults” about a secret society of bartenders who fight monsters with alcohol fueled magic.

College grad Bailey Chen has a few demons: no job, no parental support, and a rocky relationship with Zane, the only friend who’s around when she moves back home. But when Zane introduces Bailey to his cadre of monster-fighting bartenders, her demons get a lot more literal. Like, soul-sucking hell-beast literal. Soon, it’s up to Bailey and the ragtag band of magical mixologists to take on whatever—or whoever—is behind the mysterious rash of gruesome deaths in Chicago, and complete the lost recipes of an ancient tome of cocktail lore.

Thanks go to Quirk Books and Netgalley for giving me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge is due for publication on June 7th 2016.

Review:

The idea behind the narrative is novel and fun, however I found it hard to get into this book at first as everything seemed far-fetched and unbelievable. Don’t get me wrong, I am a huge fan of fantasy, urban fantasy, sci-fi, and the rest, and I love it when the unbelievable becomes an almost logical part to a story, but it took me ages to feel that I was involved in this story. ‘Oops, the secret compartment that held the secret liqour was accidentally left unlocked, Bailey accidentally found it, and then poured herself the most absolutely perfect drink that awakened some kind of magic that allowed her to see, and then kill creatures called Tremens.’ By the end of the book I was involved and wanted to know the outcome of Garrett’s master plan, and how involved the Alechemists were in his scheme.

The narrative was fast paced, and something captivating happened in most chapters. I have to admit that I skirted over the Devil’s Water Dictionary parts. It didn’t add to the narrative and I didn’t miss much.

I liked Bailey’s relationship with Vincent, and I liked Vincent’s background. The chapters where they were sussing each other out were some of my favourites. That, and when Bucket was explaining his sexuality and life choices to Bailey in a humourous, but open way. I’m still unsure on Bailey’s relationship with Zane- something doesn’t sit right with me. Maybe their history and continous fallings out had something to do with it- I honestly can’t put my finger on why I didn’t like it. I could understand a friendship that could lead to more, but hey, they’re a couple now…

If you want a quick, easy read without the need to be too involved, then this is your read. Alcohol, drunken magic, creatures, and the ultimate goal to create the elixir of life… or to stop its creation!


The opinions expressed here are those of K.J.Chapman and no other parties.

All books reviewed on this blog have been read by K.J.Chapman

K.J.Chapman has not been paid for this review.

Save

Leave a Reply

