My May Reads Round Up

MONTHLY READS ROUNDUP

This is my first EVER round up post. I read a lot, and I review a lot, so why not round up, right?

My plan is to provide my Instagram pics, a link to my full review, and a very quick summary of every book I have read per month.

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2) by Brandon Sanderson

13349044_1191867994197949_1972624146_n

My full review: The Well of Ascension Review

I gave this book 5*. I’m shouting about the Mistborn series from every rooftop I can find. If you love fantasy and great writing, then get you hands on this series.

Diary of Anna the Girl Witch by Max Candee

6tag_100516-120113

My full review: Diary of Anna the Girl Witch Review

I gave this book 4*. This book is a children’s book for the ages of about 8-12. It is a fun, dark, and twisted story with clear moral lessons.

The Dare by John Boyne

I gave this book 3.5*. A quick read book that weaves a tale of consequences, and shows how one action can affect many.

Doctrine of Indecency by Various Authors

I gave this book 3*. 18 short tales of erotic romance in varying genres. My favourites were written by Brianna West and Lila Vale. A bit hit and miss with some of the other stories.

6tag_140516-070914A Baby at the Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond

I gave this book 4*. Another from the quick read collection. Set in my home county of Cornwall. It is a fun, easy to read tale, and I shall be picking up all of Lucy Diamonds books in future.

The above reviews were rolled into a triple review post: Triple review!

Girl of Myth and Legend by Giselle Simlett

6tag_090516-164018

My full review: Girl of Myth and Legend Review

I gave this book 3.5*. Some slight contradictions in characters, but solid story, good world building, and a great concept. Will read book two because of one character- Korren.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

6tag_090516-103939

My full review: The Alchemist Review

I gave this book 3*. Well written, but slow moving story. A book full of life lessons and motivation, but came across a bit preachy to me. Was a little disappointed with the hype surrounding this book.

White Sand (Vol #1) by Brandon Sanderson

13319000_1189258764458872_1307598477_n

My full review: White Sand Review

I gave this book 4*. My first graphic novel experience. Great world and character building in such few words. Once I got the hang of the text and imagery, I finished the novel in mere hours.

The Beach Cabin by Fern Britton

13275865_1188647384520010_85332465_n

My full review: The Beach Cabin Review

I gave this book 3.5/5. A fast moving tale that doesn’t require a lot of time or effort to read. If you can over look some character cliches it is a light hearted read with some big issues and happy endings all round.

Ink and Bone (The Great Library #1) by Rachel Caine

13335321_1190571037660978_786603763_n

My full review: Ink and Bone Review

I gave this book 4*. A world in which the Great Library of Alexandria was never destroyed, and the library governs all books and knowledge. Well rounded characters and fantastic world building. A long read, but worth it.

Keep tuned for my updates, book reviews, and round ups throughout June!

You can also follow my reads and reviews on:

Goodreads

Instagram

Pinterest


Content belongs to KJ.Chapman

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “My May Reads Round Up

    1. It is sooo long. That’s my one draw back with high fantasy- the length. I’ma short read kind of girl, but I’ll read a 3000 page book if Sanderson wrote one 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

