Review: White Sand (A Graphic Novel) by Brandon Sanderson

White Sand (Book One) by Brandon Sanderson 4/5

13319000_1189258764458872_1307598477_nA brand new saga of magic and adventure by #1 New York Times best-selling author Brandon Sanderson. On the planet of Taldain, the legendary Sand Masters harness arcane powers to manipulate sand in spectacular ways. But when they are slaughtered in a sinister conspiracy, the weakest of their number, Kenton, believes himself to be the only survivor. With enemies closing in on all sides, Kenton forges an unlikely partnership with Khriss — a mysterious Darksider who hides secrets of her own. White Sand brings to life a crucial, unpublished part of Brandon Sanderson’s sprawling Cosmere universe. The story has been adapted by Rik Hoskin (Mercy Thompson), with art by Julius Gopez and colors by Ross Campbell. Employing powerful imagery and Sanderson’s celebrated approach to magical systems, White Sand is a spectacular new saga for lovers of fantasy and adventure.

Review:

Thanks go to Diamond Book Distributers and Netgalley for offering me a free copy of this graphic novel in exchange for my honest opinion.

I didn’t not like this book. That is a weird start to a review, right? But I’ve never picked up a graphic novel before, and I had many people telling me that it wouldn’t be my thing, and that it is a niche audience- blah blah blah. Well, my review just goes to show that story always prevails. I’m glad this was my first taste of a graphic novel, otherwise I may not have been open to reading any more.

I’m a HUGE fan of Brandon Sanderson, and yet again his world building skills, inventive story lines, and imaginative creation of fantasy/ sci-fi races, creatures, powers has me in awe. I’m doubley impressed with the fact that he can create a detailed, engaging story in such few words.

It did take me a while to find my swing when reading, but once I got into the story and the imagery, and learnt how things progressed, I finished the entire thing in mere hours. I’d recommend this to fantasy fans, and/or Brandon Sanderson fans who may not have thought to pick up a graphic novel.


The opinions expressed here are those of K.J.Chapman and no other parties.

All books reviewed on this blog have been read by K.J.Chapman

K.J.Chapman has not been paid for this review.

2 thoughts on “Review: White Sand (A Graphic Novel) by Brandon Sanderson

Leave a Reply

