Getting Back to Pen and Paper

musings(1)

When I first started properly writing, 12 *cough* years ago, I always used pen and paper. We had a PC in our family home, and I had access to computers through college, but at home I was vying for PC time with other family members, and at college I was cramming revision and writing essays. Pen and paper was easiest.

When I moved out at 20 with my boyfriend, now hubby, and my bestie, Charlotte, I didn’t have a PC. I would use Charlotte’s when she wasn’t using it, but again- pen and paper was easiest.

Then, laptops came into the equation. As soon as I had one warming my lap, typing took over. I would write notes, but I rarely drafted on anything other than a laptop. That remained true until very recently.

fcareytype

I was suffering from a headache that only got worse from staring at a screen. I had a wave of motivation, so I couldn’t not write. I grabbed a pen and paper and knuckled down. Wow, I forgot how liberating it was to actually write words- physically write words in my handwriting. Weird, right? No, I think there is a creative link between thinking and physically writing. It is the reason why I write my notes by hand, and now the reason why I plan to draft a part of EVO Ghost by hand. I’m still a typing advocate, but when stuck, it’s pen and paper for me, and I am definitely in a rut.

Do you draft all, part, or none of your WIP on paper? Are you an avid note taker? I welcome all comments.


Content belongs to KJ.Chapman

GIF sourced from GIPHY.com

17 thoughts on “Getting Back to Pen and Paper

  1. I used to write everything by hand, for much the same reasons you did. And I used to hate typing. Now I can type quite quickly and I do almost everything on a screen BUT if I’m struggling with a scene or need a fresh perspective, I go back to pen and paper. As you say, it feels so liberating! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do not write many notes but have been tempted to write a first draft solely on paper. I think it is a forgotten art and it can be so liberating. You may have inspired me to use notebooks more and more πŸ™‚ a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I go back and forth. When I’m batting an idea around, I love to use pen and paper. The slower pace of handwriting allows me to connect with the story and characters on a deeper level. If I can’t make something flow correctly on screen, then I write it out. It offers a different perspective which is helpful. I have notebooks filled with little bits of dialogue or random scenes. Its fun to get your initial ideas out on paper, because you can draw arrows, scratch out, make notes in the margins–something typing does not allow.
    Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Notebooks are my obsession, and like you, I have dialogue, arrows, flow charts etc in mine. Of course, they are all highlighted too. *It’s got to look pretty*

      It feels very strange to be drafting chapters on paper, especially knowing I need to type the whole thing up, but it’s working, so I shall not complain. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am a notebook lover! My first draft of Pirate Eyes was all handwritten (that was 10 years ago now). I turned to the PC for a few drafts of edits, but when I was rewriting these last few months,I was using paper & pen again. I definitely find that it liberates my imagination more than a screen. If I could use a typewriter, that would be my ideal πŸ™‚
    I hope that drafting EVO Ghost my hand helps! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Usually when my laptop is dead, but it always feels really good to see my WIP written down. My biggest problem with this is that I simply cannot write fast enough to keep up with my brain. This stresses me out and takes the joy out of the process.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So, what you’re saying is that, when you moved out at 20, you used Charlotte’s Web? πŸ˜› *ahem* (oh gawd, that was terrible!)
    I love the idea ❀ I used to write with pen and paper when I was younger too, maybe I should start again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

