Mapping Out

musings(1)

No, I haven’t turned plotter all of a sudden, but I am having to map out what I have already written, so I know what I have touched upon, and where I was going etc. I guess it’s plotting in reverse; starting a flow chart only after I’ve written a chapter.

rewind

This is really really helping me with book three, EVO Ghost. I keep having mini panics about tying up loose ends, making the finale epic, and ensuring everyone has their showcase. At least with mapping out the chapters I have written, I have a visual aid of where I was intending to take the narrative, and I don’t forget any details.

As I have discussed in previous posts, I can’t plot- I just can’t. There is something about plotting that leaves my narrative stilted, and my characters unbelievable. That’s just my experience. The fun of writing for me comes from discovering the narrative as I plow on, and I find my attention wandering if I already know the ending; much like someone giving you a film to watch, but telling you the plot twist first.

Do any of you pantsers have tips and tricks for keeping your narrative on point? I’d love to hear from you.


Content belongs to KJ.Chapman

GIF sourced from GIPHY.com

8 thoughts on “Mapping Out

  1. Hmmm, I’d have to think about tips but mapping it out as you go sounds like a good way of doing it πŸ™‚ I was thinking about re-reading Rise of the Sparrows at some point and taking notes, and then do the same again with Book 2 when I’m writing the third πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Though I’m partially a panster, I do like knowing the ending early on so I know where the book will lead. I find just writing chapters or scenes helps me churn out ideas. Mapping is a great idea. I’m going to be mapping my first book, so I can have it handy when I start writing the second.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is handy to have for the sequels. I never mapped book one or two, they were ingrained into my memory from the about of times I re-read them for editing haha. Book three is a killer for me, but I think I’m putting unnecessary pressure on myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d like to think I’m somewhere between plotter and pantser. I start with an idea of where I’m going and usually work through outlining a sketch of my story: hitting main points, deciding main conflicts. Then I write, filling in the blanks and keeping track of important developments as I go so I can return and make sure there’s no repetition and no plot holes. A lot of the times, my outline is forsaken for a better idea that inspires in the moment. Once, I even ended up throwing out my original ending to a novel for a far better one that leapt naturally while I wrote. I never let my plotting hold me back. The important thing is going in with a sense of what I want to accomplish and keeping track of those pesky meandering plotlines as I go πŸ™‚
    The idea of mapping as you go sounds like a great way to help get those plots tied up. πŸ™‚ And your pantsing techniques have worked well so far. EVO Nation & EVO Shift were excellent — as you already know πŸ˜‰
    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Enjoy the writing. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds like a great idea. I don’t really plot in the traditional sense but I’m not sure if I’m a panster either. Probably somewhere in between. I usually know the major plot points of a story and have an ending in mind but other than that, I go where the story takes me. Its just enough to give me a direction but not enough to tie me down. I think some writers become slaves to their outlines, never wanting to go against the bullet points or whatever they have and end up finding themselves very stressed when the characters begin to act out. I like the freedom and creativity of working without a detailed outline. The mapping is a great way to gather your thoughts while still allowing your creativity to shine.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. We all tackle writing with such different approaches, and you’re right, some people plot to within an inch of their lives. I found that once I shook plotting off, and realised that there isn’t one right formula, and ditched the ‘how to’ books, I got my first draft finished ever. I took that as a sign πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

