What’s Your Name? Letter O

Continuing with the letters between Mackenzie and Naomi, I pre-picked my ‘O’ name ahead of time to include in last week’s letter. This is the third and final letter and it is a doozy- woo hoo hoo.

You can find the first two letters here: Mackenzie’s Letter and Naomi’s Letter.

The name randomly picked from the first ‘O’ page in my naming book is:

Oakley: a surname meaning ‘oak meadow tree’. Used as a masculine first name.

Oakley

Mackenzie,

I hate you.

It has taken me twelve months to even contemplate sending this letter to you, but do you know what? I’m going to ensure that you experience even a fraction of the torment you put me through that night and continue to put me through to this very moment.

After the funeral, I tried to end my life. Is that what you wanted to hear? No parent should have to bury their child. Oakley was bright, funny, so so loving, and he had such a gentle heart. You robbed me of him- the world of him. I hate you!

Now, here’s the part that you need to know, and it’s a doozy. I named him Oakley because he was your child, Mackenzie. I left the day I found out I was pregnant because I knew you’d be poisonous for him. He deserved better than you as a father, and Rick brought him up as his own. I still loved you, and I knew that you would love him, but your love is dangerous. How does it feel knowing you killed your own child in the fire that night? I hope it eats you alive. I hope that you see fit to tie that rope around your neck and rid the earth of the scum that is Mackenzie Jenson.

Oakley’s resting with his Dad now; the man who earned that title, and will always have it. My son will haunt you for the rest of your days because I will see to it.

You took the best of me, but the rest of me I dedicate to torturing you.

Naomi.

 


All written works are the property of K.J.Chapman

Save

11 thoughts on “What’s Your Name? Letter O

      1. It was dark but brilliant. It does seem like a fun concept and look forward to seeing more in the future perhaps πŸ˜‰
        Have you ever read the novella 1922 by Stephen King. That was the first time I read a story written in a letter format that was drafted so well.
        Now I have witnessed a second πŸ˜‰

        Like

  1. This just tore my heart! What an utterly heartwrenching end to a tremendous series! You know how to twist that dagger, eh Kayleigh? ;P
    So powerfully brilliant. Your words always know how to weave together a perfect image of the human heart, always perfectly capturing the emotions of your characters!
    Your talent continues to shine bright, even when your stories reveal the shadows of the world ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

