WIP Update #1

Book Review(2)

When I was writing EVO Shift, I posted weekly updates of word counts and excerpts etc. I simply don’t have the time to do that weekly during EVO Ghost drafting. I want my sole focus to be on my WIP. I will still be posting my writing exercises, but as you may have noticed, I’m allowing myself to miss weeks here and there in regards to those as well. I will still post musings and reviews as and when the feeling takes me, I’m just not giving myself anymore commitments for the time being.

During the drafting of EVO Shift, I spent a lot of time preparing blog posts, and my drafting process suffered. I sometimes missed days of writing because my attention was elsewhere. I’m putting my foot down with myself for this draft, and it is working brilliantly. I’m writing faster than I’ve ever done, and managing to read much more- yay! This means I get to beta read and ARC read, and give the projects my full attention. Something, I would have struggled with last year.

So, on with the first update:

Title & Cover Reveal:

EVOGHOSTThe title was announced on March 11th, as was the cover design. I usually don’t have a title until well into the drafting process, but this one has been on my mind since I wrote the end of EVO Shift. Once I started drafting book three, the title grew more prominent in my mind. I just had to use it. I’ve had great feedback from readers of the series. They agree that the title makes perfect sense, and even commented on how reading the new title gave them goosebumps, or made them doubly excited for book three. Bonus!

I feel the cover is simplistic, in keeping with the previous two covers, and has something haunting about it… Ghost…haunting… get it? *laughs to self*

Word Count:

I’ve been drafting since mid February, and I have put down 18k words; leagues ahead of where I was at this point in the drafting of EVO Shift. I’m conscious of this being the last in the series. I keep chanting to myself, ‘no loose ends, no loose ends.’ I’m sure I’m just being over paranoid, but this book has to be on point in regards to conclusions, and at the same time, I want it to hold mystery, suspense, and be…EPIC! It’s so hard to not write in twists that may require more than one book to explain, when I have enough to wrap up. That being said, there is one twist I simply had to include because it links into the very first book- I shall say no more on that score!

Excerpt:

It is hard to pick excerpts that don’t give too much away. I’m purposely trying to find paragraphs that don’t feature too many character names etc, because if readers haven’t yet read EVO shift, I don’t want them guessing the outcome to events in that book by reading excerpts from EVO Ghost.

Here’s my choice:

“They’re looking less inflamed, and the ones I’ve stitched are healing nicely.” He dabs on some kind of antiseptic that stings to the high heavens, but nothing more than a hiss escapes my lips. “Rafe wants me to assess you for training. Ideally, I would hold off on any physical exertion, but I know you won’t pay any attention to what I say.”
  “You know nothing about me,” I say, sliding a t-shirt over my fresh dressings.
  “I know why you hate me, and I understand your reasons, but you of all people must see that I was just a pawn to Towley. You saw what he is capable of. I couldn’t go against him.”
  I lift my head, staring at the blank wall in front of me. “Another doctor I knew said the same thing about Alan Roscoe. She turned out to be a psychotic, supremacist, who double crossed everyone. I don’t trust you, doctor.” I purposely emphasise the last word. “I have no idea why Papa does.”


 

All written works & images are the property of K.J.Chapman

 

10 thoughts on “WIP Update #1

  1. There’s nothing wrong with staying focused on what you want to do. It’s easy to get lost in doing a lot of other things and allowing those things to distract and sidetrack you, but it’s good that you realized this and made a decision, as hard as it may have been, to give your attention to what you feel really needs it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. I want to be working on my WIP, not churning out blog post after blog post that may or may not hold relevance. I think the best posts are spontaneous anyhow. It’s hard when you’re trying to build up a blog presence/platform, but I have nothing without a completed series, right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great excerpt! I know what you mean, I’m worried about future excerpts giving away too much of Book 2, too. I might use nicknames for everyone so people can’t guess too much 😉
    Well done on the word count! Sounds like it’s progressing well already! 🙂 I’m sure it’ll be EPIC, just don’t rush it. If you take your time with it and listen to feedback it’d be hard to have any loose ends left by the time it’s published 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome excerpt! Very intriguing!!!! 😍😍😍

    Good on you for prioritizing on what’s most important to you! I need to follow your wise example and be doing more of that myself in order to get edits/polishing done so I can just query already. Lol 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love how you talk about saying focused and I’m glad that you’re finding yourself more concentrated on this draft. I removed myself from the world a bit this past week and I managed to write 10k (5k just yesterday while taking a whole day off social media). It’s a small sacrifice that’s worth the end product.
    The excerpt has me all excited and I keep loving the cover and title for this last book.
    Best of luck with the rest of it! Hearing more about it has be itching to get my hands on it 😉 Of course, I’ll be patient and wait for it in due time. Closing a chapter on a series is a big deal. I can’t imagine the feelings associated yet. One day, though…
    I wish you inspiration ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It means a lot to hear you’re excited for book three 🙂 It’s bitter sweet- fantastic to have a series finished, but sad to say goodbye. I think the end of this book is the perfect time to cut ties. I’ve had fun with these friends, and now it’s time to meet some new people- writers life, eh?

      Congrats on the word count. Just goes to prove how much procrastinating we do on social media. It’s a catch 22! We need to build our author profiles, but we need to write too. One day, I may find a happy medium. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

