Interview With Linda Osborne, Founder of Tots Tune Time

14650082_2083625731863217_1337960993889391489_n

Today’s author interview is a little different. I am joined by Linda Osborne, the founder of Tots Tune Time.

Linda uses her writing and creative talent in an educational way: writing songs and poems for pre-schoolers. Linda holds nursery groups in her local community, encouraging learning and exercise within young children in fun, energetic sessions based around her songs. But that is not the end of Linda’s objective. Her material has been requested and used by teachers and parents for many years, and Linda has been making big strides forward in plans to get her educational products into more schools and other child based community organisations on a wider scale, and has many products available for consumer purchase. Click here to view Tots Tune Products.

Check out one of Linda’s fun, educational videos:

1. Where did the idea for Tots Tune Time stem from?

 My passion for dance, music and my love of working with young kids inspired me.

2. Have you always had a passion for writing poetry/ songs?

After writing a short song at the request of a local nursery, I discovered a new interest. I now have quite a collection and was encouraged by the enthusiastic response of kids and teachers.

3. What inspires your songs and poems?

I keep a notepad with me all the time. I write about topics that kids can learn from. I love to write to activate imagination. I try and look at things through a child’s eyes. What would I love to listen to? I’d want to learn, laugh and be inspired.

4. What is it about writing for children that motivates you?

Their innocence, their ability to absorb information, their laughter (I love to inject humour into my writing) and their honesty.

5. Do you have a writing routine?

No. I always have new ideas so I keep a notepad with me and write things down.

6. What’s next for Tots Tune Time?

Keep creating and expanding. Sell preschool products online (http://www.totstunepreschoolproducts.com/). Raise funds to professionally film classes to be made available online. Look into franchising Tots’ Tune Time.

If you are interested in any of Linda’s products, you can find more on Tots Tune Time here:

Official Webpage

Twitter

Facebook


For use of any images or excerpts featured in this post, please seek permission from the author/ creator, Linda Osborne.

Save

5 thoughts on “Interview With Linda Osborne, Founder of Tots Tune Time

  1. Great interview! I’ve always wanted to write for kids – I actually have a small series planned for some time in the future – but it is difficult to get the words right and find a story that speaks to them without coming across as talking down or going over their heads 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I too have a children’s book idea, but like you, I’m worried that I won’t be able to get it across right. I’m used to writing for teens/ YA/NA. I worry that might hinder my narrative in a child’s eyes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

