What’s Your Name? Letter M

The first ‘M’ name randomly selected from the first ‘M’ page in my naming book is:

Mackenzie: A surname meaning ‘son of Kenneth’ (Scottish Gaelic). Used as a masculine and feminine first name.

The following letter is based on an idea I had for another series, but one that I’m no longer persuing…well, not at the moment. I wanted to use this exercise to pad out an idea, and see what the result would be. I like the dynamics of this relationship and that’s why it keeps niggling at the back of my mind.

Mackenzie

Mackenzie,

First, let me say that this letter isn’t me taking the coward’s way out. I knew that if I tried to talk to you about this, things would have gotten out of control, just like they always do. I just hope that you read this, otherwise you’ll never know the truth. You deserve to know the truth.

I’ve left you. By the time you find this letter, I’ll be in another country, living another life.

I won’t say it’s not you it’s me, because I’m not willing to take 100% of the blame. You have to grow up and accept your own faults, just as I have done. You were always the burning flame, and I was the gasoline. It’s just how we worked I suppose- destructive. There’s only so many times that you can turn me to ash before the wind picks me up and carries me away. And there’s only so many times that I can ignite your flame before you burn out. I don’t want to see you burn out.

You and I are a brilliant disaster. That’s not how this should be- I know that- I’ve always known that, but I punished myself time and time again. I knew that if I didn’t distance myself from you this time, that I would be drawn back. As for you, how do you love and hate someone equally, both with fierce passion and commitment. I don’t mind if you wholly hate me now, I only worry that it will consume you. Everything consumes you.

I want you to take this decision as my gift to you. Use it wisely.

You’ll always have the best and worst of me.

Naomi x

I have already randomly selected the ‘N’ name for next week. Can you guess what it was? Yep, Naomi. I might return a letter to her from Mackenzie, so keep your eyes peeled.


All written works are the property of K.J.Chapman

Do you like writing prompts? Check out K.J.Chapman’s Prompt Me eBook, and discover 150 writing prompts for beating the block!

Save

8 thoughts on “What’s Your Name? Letter M

  1. I can see why the relationship dynamics are speaking to you. They are doing the same to me ❤
    This letter was so beautifully written, despite its topic. I hope Mackenzie takes Naomi's advice, and sees her leaving as a gift to grow. I'd love to see more of their relationship, before as well as after the letter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love this! The concept of telling a story through letters is something that I’ve been toying with lately, so this is rather apt!
    This is so beautifully written and I cannot wait to see what the response will be. There’s so much I could point out, lines that I love. ‘Everything consumes you’! That just resonates with me. Amazing 😀
    Do you think that this will help inspire that larger series somewhere down the line?
    As always, thank you for sharing your captivating words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

