Review: Nowhere by Jon Robinson

Nowhere by Jon Robinson 3/5

Blurb:

‘No one’s coming for us.
Not our families, not the police.
No one.’

Alyn, Jes, Ryan and Elsa are Nowhere.
A concrete cube in the middle of a dense forest.

Imprisoned inside are one hundred teenagers from all over the country. They’re all criminals. But none of them remember committing any crimes.

Who has put them there. What do their captors want?
And how will they ever break free . . . ?

Review:

The concept appealed to me, but I felt more could have been done with this narrative. I was half way through the book and the pace hadn’t picked up, and the story hadn’t progressed enough for my liking. I was waiting for something to happen.

Nowhere is written in third person, but regularly switches perspective between a number of characters. This allowed insight into both the captors and the captives. I liked Ryan’s character because he felt the most rounded out of the bunch. I didn’t feel emotionally drawn/ attached to any of the others. Character development  really lets this book down.

The prose was simplistic, but well written, and the rapid switches between perspectives was handled well. Nowhere is set in present day/ near future. It makes a change from a lot of dystopian YA novels on the market. I am a fan of science fiction and urban fantasy, and that premise is what drew me to the novel in the first place. I just wished Robinson fulfilled my expectations a little more.

The ending only added to my questions rather than answered any. This is most probably due to Nowhere being the first in a series, but I needed a little more closure than what was offered.

In summary, a great concept that needed a little more oomph.

5 thoughts on “Review: Nowhere by Jon Robinson

      1. Such a shame :/ Thank you for writing a review. I’ve been lucky so far that I haven’t read a book I didn’t enjoy. I think it’ll be more difficult to write a review for ones I didn’t like because the writer still put so much effort into it! Unless they didn’t. It’s probably deserved if they didn’t.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I try to be honest, but not outright rude. I always try to find something I like whether it’s prose or character development etc. The concept of this book was great, and will probably pick up in book 2, but it hasn’t compelled me to read on.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s a good way of doing it. Even when we don’t like a book there’s usually still something we did enjoy. Given how large my TBR list is already I don’t think I’m too sad that I won’t be adding this one.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

