Character Dialogue: Cutting The Fluff

I have a new character straight off the bat in book three. This character was ‘properly’ introduced to the narrative at the very end of EVO Shift. I love this character, and have great things planned for them, but their dialogue hasn’t been gelling with the image/ idea in my head. I’ve re-read certain chapters time and time again to try and figure out what was so… off. I never usually re-read during drafting, so this alone told me that I needed to sort this ASAP. I couldn’t move forward without finding their true voice and it was frustrating to say the least.

exasperation

I was re-reading for the millionth time, when out of the blue I highlighted the last sentence of a piece of their dialogue and pressed delete. I moved to their next line of dialogue, read through, highlighted two sentences, and again, pressed delete. Something was happening… yep, their voice rang clear in my head. It was a kind voice, a wise voice, and a voice that would be to the point. I just had to cut the fluff- the gumph- the dead weight. Basically, I had to cut the bullshit.

They have their voice! *Inwardly screams ‘YAAASSSSSSS’*

hell yeah

This one is under my skin and I don’t want to let them down. I’m so relieved that I can finally get back on the drafting train with a clear voice in my mind. After all, this is the series finale and it’s the strong voices who WILL be heard…


Written content is the property of K.J.Chapman

GIFs sourced from GIPHY.COM

7 thoughts on “Character Dialogue: Cutting The Fluff

    1. It really is! Once I discovered my new character doesn’t offer explanation and is straight to the point, it was easy to write his dialogue. He doesn’t get angry or flustered that often, so blunt dialogue works best 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

