My Favourite Page in My Favourite Book

I have many, many, many favourite books, and many, many, many favourite sentences, chapters, descriptions, dialogues etc, but there is one that affects me every time I read it.

6tag_311215-133643
For some reason, I have three copies of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, but I won’t give them away just in case something terrible happens to my go to copy. I think I would palpitate if I didn’t have a copy at hand, so three it is. I have read Jane Eyre more times than I can count, and each time I get a giddy feeling when I know I’m about to reach my favourite page. In my go to copy, it is page 302.

6tag_311215-134221

Read it for yourself and tell me it isn’t the perfect surmise of love:

“Because,” he said, “I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you – especially when you are near me, as now: it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And if that boisterous Channel, and two hundred miles or so of land come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I shall take to bleeding inwardly. As for you- you’d forget me.”

“That I never should, sir: you know-” Impossible to proceed.

Does that not give you a fizzy tummy? I’ve come over all goose-pimpled again; the sign of a brilliant book and author.

I just wanted to share one last thing with you- my Christmas pressie from a few years ago that was handmade by my best friend. She rescued a copy of Jane Eyre from the rubbish bin, and put it to amazing use.

6tag_311215-134354.jpg

Now, isn’t that a beauty to behold? All the most poignant lines, and my favourite paragraph is included in this, and it is made all the better knowing that I can still get joy out of a book that would have otherwise ended up in the bin.

Do you have a favourite book, or line of dialogue, chapter, paragraph etc? I would like to hear your stories.


 

All images are the property of K.J.Chapman

4 thoughts on “My Favourite Page in My Favourite Book

  1. The frame is so lovely! I’ve never read Jane Eyre (shocking, I know) but that was a beautiful paragraph ❤
    I can't think of just one line, sentence, or paragraph but I do write down all the parts I love that stand out to me. I've got a little notebook set aside just for that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know I’ve already mentioned to you that Jane Eyre is my favourite book and I’m so glad that you shared your favourite passage. My tummy does indeed go all a-flutter when I read it. I think my favourite passage has to be:
    “Do you think I am an automaton? — a machine without feelings? and can bear to have my morsel of bread snatched from my lips, and my drop of living water dashed from my cup? Do you think, because I am poor, obscure, plain, and little, I am soulless and heartless? You think wrong! — I have as much soul as you — and full as much heart! And if God had gifted me with some beauty and much wealth, I should have made it as hard for you to leave me, as it is now for me to leave you. I am not talking to you now through the medium of custom, conventionalities, nor even of mortal flesh: it is my spirit that addresses your spirit; just as if both had passed through the grave, and we stood at God’s feet, equal — as we are!”
    Go Jane Go!
    Also, that is a most beautiful gift! You are so fortunate to have a great friend who is thoughtful and knows you well 🙂 A true blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

