EVO Shift Editing Update #3

giphyphewIt has been three days of hard slogging, but the second read through has been a success. The changes made in stage #1 of editing flow well and tie up all the loose ends. I am more than a little relieved. There was quite a bit of tying off that needed to be done and I kept all apendages crossed that it wouldn’t affect the narrative in an adverse way, but I’m happy to say- phew!

Stage #2 consisted of polishing narrative, and more importantly adding a few scenes to flesh out certain plot points. Those scenes have been added, and edited, and are sitting pretty.

6tag_290116-140120As you can just about see in the picture, I changed the font and colour to give myself a fresh perspective. I went for a red this time, and highlighted with a dark blue. It really helped me see it through new eyes. I would suggest trying this if you edit on screen and find you’re missing mistakes etc.

So, what are my processes for Stage #3?

Stage #3 is… yep, you guessed it, the third read through. This read through is to catch anything I may have missed. I have already sent a copy to my friend/ proof reader for any glaring mistakes that they may see.

Again, I will change the font and colour. I will reiterate how well this works for me. Once I am happy with stage #3 and have feedback from my proof-reader, then I will send out my advanced reader copies. This shouldn’t be long at all.

Stage #4= formatting. This is tedious, and time consuming, and makes me go cross-eyed, but it is a necessity for ebooks. I will go into this in a little more detail once Stage #3 is completed.

I shall leave you with another excerpt because I’m in a sharing mood:

The tantrum was fruitless. It did nothing other than tire me, and leave my knuckles swollen and split. I pace. It’s all I can do to stop me going insane. I’ve run over every possible escape scenario, but I can’t pull anything off with the cuff on my wrist. I scream in frustration as I move from the window to the door from the window to the door.


GIF sourced from GIPHY.COM

Image & written works are the property of K.J.Chapman

 

 

5 thoughts on “EVO Shift Editing Update #3

  1. Loved the preview! I can’t wait to read it, it’s promising to be a great sequel!
    How do you manage to get through your edit so quickly? :O You’re a force of nature!! I was hoping to get to half of my draft by the end of this week, but now I’ll try to do the whole thing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TY. I have been slogging long hours, but I also have someone reading for mistakes 🙂 TY for agreeing to be an advanced copy reader!! EVO Nation was a quick weite, but long edit and EVO Shift is the total opposite.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know you posted this a while ago, so my comments here are probably redundant, but I have to say how impressed I am by your quick edits. It’s inspirational to say the least.
    Also, you’re excerpt has me all excited for the next book! I’m glad I don’t have to wait too long for it!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

