What’s Your Name? Letter G

I’ve just had a crazy thought… I am already on week 7 of these posts! Where have those weeks gone? Anyway, back to business. Today’s name, randomly selected from the first G page in my naming book, is:

Gabrielle: a feminine form of Gabriel ‘man of God.’ Diminutive forms inc Gabbie/ Gabby.

Gabrielle

I stand at the edge of the forest looking into the gloom of the shadows. The voice still calls to me. It sounds like the wind, but it definitely calls to me.

“Gabrielle. Gabrielle.”

It draws me closer still. A part of my brain screams at me to stop, to run away screaming, but that part feels locked away; unable to access my body that is hell bent on following the voice.

“Gabrielle. Gabrielle. Gabrielle.”

“I’m coming,” I reply, taking a step into the black of the woods. The shadows lick at my skin, leaving an icy chill in their wake. ‘Wake up, Gabrielle,’ I scream at myself. ‘This is a bad idea!’

I can feel myself tearing out of my trance like state. Fear consumes me, and the shadows reach out with more ferocity, every touch draining me, sucking the life from me. It’s too much to fight. The chill eats into my chest, squeezing everything warm and good from me.

In the next instant, I’m tackled to the ground, and dragged from the forest.

“GABRIELLE!” the forest voice screams. Birds scatter from the trees, and the cold that was filling every inch of my being retreats and warmth takes its place. The body pinning me to the floor is a welcome source of heat. I hold myself to it, wishing the chill away.

“Are you okay?” says a husky, male voice.

Brown eyes search my own, and then he rolls off of me. The man stands, holding a hand out to me, and helps me up. He has harsh features, and a permanent scowl on his face, but I know he’s a good man. Call it intuition if you must. He wouldn’t be bad looking if he just smiled.

“I think we need a chat,” he says.

“Who are you?”

“Just call me a good samaritan.”


Written works are the property of K.J.Chapman

Save

9 thoughts on “What’s Your Name? Letter G

  1. This morning I was just thinking about when the next letter story would be out and boom! I enjoy reading your stories and love the first person narrative. I find it difficult to write in but you make it effortless and add dynamics to the story. A nice little short story!

    Like

    1. Aw, thanks for thinking of me and my writing exercises this morn. Glad you enjoyed it. First person is my comfort zone, but I will try my hand at other POV’s from time to time.

      I am only doing short shorts at the mo as I’m consumed with editing, but I hope they’re still engaging πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I do these posts on Saturday’s, but at the moment it is hard to find time. I will though- I’m determined haha.

        I always keep my eyes peeled for your Siblings updates and the story of Evie & The Professor!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Another gripping short story!! I hope I’m not repetitive when I say that I am in awe of your vivid descriptions and incredible knack at creating stories that grab you from the get-go and pull you through the narrative until its conclusion πŸ™‚ I love these stories no matter how long. Thank you for taking the time to share even while you’re working on EVO Shift. Hope that’s going well too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

