EVO Shift Editing Update #2

The changes have been made.

As you can see from the picture, I not only have a love of highlighters, but I have also worked my way through my whole list of notes and amendments.

6tag_290116-123131It was quite a feat. It was only when I made it through half the notes that I finally started to feel confident that I was heading in the right direction. There is light at the end of the tunnel.

So, what is in store for stage #2 of editing?

I have approximately three chapters/ scenes to add. The story flows, but I feel these scenes will flesh certain areas out a little bit. Once, the chapters are added, I will go back through my processes in stage #1 again to highlight anything I need to amend in the new writing.

Then, I will be ready for the second read through. I change the font style and colour for the second read through as this helps me see it in a fresh way. This genuinely works, or at least it does for my brain. I always pick up things I have missed when I get to this read through. I will pick a different colour from stage #1, but yep, I do highlight anything I’m still not happy with. I usually don’t need to make notes during this stage. It’s more of a narrative polish-up than anything else.

I will post another up-date when I have completed stage #2, but for now, here is another excerpt:

Cooper has spent the entire day working out. At one point he asked Bo to count his crunches, but she told him to do it himself in not as many words. I know why he is doing it, I want to be occupied myself, but there is nothing for me to do other than pace.

“I need to lift,” Cooper says, panting. He looks to me, but I turn my back on him and continue pacing. Then, he looks to Bo.

“Lift this,” she says, flipping him the bird. “Will you quit with the strong man routine. We get it- you work out. Now, do us a favour and give it a rest. I’m done with your grunting.”

Cooper spits into the piss bucket and comes to stand beside me at the bars. “And I thought you were bad,” he mutters.


Images and excerpts are the property of K.J.Chapman

15 thoughts on “EVO Shift Editing Update #2

  1. I have so much love for the way you highlight, K. I totally get it. It may well be one of my favourite parts about editing, sad as that is. You seem to have flown through your first edit! Best of luck with the second one! πŸ™‚ I’m starting to feel like I’m racing you, haha! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your editing process and the use of highlighters. I’ve never used them myself, but it seems like a great idea. I love your excerpt too πŸ™‚ Best of luck with your edits! I hope everything keeps going well for you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

