What’s Your Name? Letter F

Wow. I nearly forgot to write this post. I am having a hectic week of personal plans, writing notes for book three, fixing our car *grrr*, and reading. Reading being the biggest task at the moment. I’m reading a lot of books for review, and am more than a little excited to say that Author, Brianna West, offered me an advanced reader copy of her upcoming book ‘Victor’. I am all consumed with the story, and can’t fully function until I finish!

The name, randomly picked from the first ‘F’ page in my naming book is:

Fairley: A surname of masculine first name meaning ‘clearing with ferns’. (Old English)

Check out Part #1: Letter D and Part #2: Letter E to get up to date with the story so far.

Fairley

“Remove your clothes,” Daire says, as the green beam touches down on the grassy clearing. She stands aghast, clutching at her top longingly. “Quickly, Eva.”

She does as she’s told. Daire’s eyes linger on her longer than necessary, sending a blood flush to her cheeks. Clutching her arms around herself, she tries to maintain a little modesty.

His lips turn up in a smirk. “Underwear too. It’s not something I haven’t seen before,” he jokes.

Eva’s well aware of the fact, but it still feels strange. Daire has only seen her nude the once, and it was in a more… intimate circumstance. This feels awkward, and although he has grown accustomed to his naked state on arrival, it’s not natural for her.

Daire takes her hand, tucking her tight against his chest, and they rise through the beam. Eva clings on for dear life, and he keeps a reassuring grip on her waist. She shivers from the icy temperature, and welcomes the warmth of the port room. The floor closes under them and they drop delicately to their feet.

The room is stark, almost clinical. Her cold, mottled skin looks sickly in the light. Daire holds her for a moment, just staring. She gets the feeling he doesn’t agree.

“You are finally here,” he says, his breathy voice betraying his emotions. “I wish it was under different circumstances.” He kisses her, and she shivers; a mix of the effect he has on her and the cold. “Of course, you’re chilled to the bone. I will find you something to wear. I do not have female attire with me, but I can find something suitable.”

He breezes out of the port room, and Eva gingerly follows him into an enchanting hallway. The hall is furnished in ornate furniture, gold leaf framed portraits, red carpet that swallow your feet, and a chandelier of sorts. The port room could be part of a totally different ship.

“This place is amazing,” Eva gasps.

Daire stops in his stride, an amused look in his grey eyes. “This is my personal ship. My father gave it to me when I turned twenty one. We will abandon it as soon as feasible.”

Of course, they’re on the run- in hiding- whatever you want to call it. They will be looking for Prince Daire Eavan’s ship. Eva’s not one hundred percent sure who ‘they’ are, but the fear she feels is real. The thought that Daire is a Prince is a surreal one. This is turning into quite  a full moon.

He returns with a green tunic, delicately stitched with a beautiful, gold design and thick cuffs. It is a tunic of a Prince. The thought catches her off guard, and she stares at the top in her hands. “You’re a Prince,” Eva whispers. “You shouldn’t be with me. Why didn’t you stay away?”

Daire buttons up his trousers, and slips into another less fancy, blue tunic that makes his eyes glow. “Would you have me leave you after I confess my love for you?”

Eva pulls the tunic over her head, straightening out the soft material, enjoying the way it hangs from her frame. “No, but you could have met a Princess or a noble woman, someone you could marry… Oh, I don’t know. This seems a lot of hassle over me.”

He sighs loudly. “I love you, my Princess. What more is their to talk about?” His honesty still leaves her in awe. On earth she had met very few people who could boost such an unashamed honesty. Daire wore his heart on his sleeve where she was concerned, and it was refreshing to say the least.

“Thank you for coming back,” she says, quietly. “It would have broken me if you had left me waiting there.”

“It was a selfish decision on my part, and one that has now torn you away from your family and your home, but I’m afraid I can’t say that I regret it. My soul wants yours, it’s a simple as that. That little Earth was too small to hold such as a soul as yours, my Eva. My Princess Eva.”

He leads her into a even grander room. An extensive library stretches from floor to ceiling, and every musical instrument she could name, and then some, sit groomed and ready to be played.

“I look forward to hearing you sing,” Daire states, breaking her wonder.

“Oh no. I don’t sing publicly… how do you know I sing?” Eva asks.

Daire laughs, swiping a silver curtain of hair out of his eyes. “Just because I wasn’t with you, doesn’t mean I wasn’t ensuring your safety. Earth’s satellites are easy to manipulate.”

Eva clasps a hand to her mouth. “You were spying on me?”

“No, ensuring your safety. Okay, perhaps a little bit of spying. I only ever heard you sing a line or two, but you have the prettiest signing voice I have ever encountered.” Her face flares red again, and he kisses her forehead. “I know Fairley would enjoy your voice. She has an ear for the finer things.”

“Is Fairley your sister?”

“Yes. She is fifteen years my senior, but we are close as a brother and sister should be. She was widowed young, and now lives in her late husband’s estate on Bilareen. It was the neighbouring planet to the Myxon Kingdoms, but now is the ninth Kingdom under Myxon rule. When her husband died the rule fell to my sister, but as is the sexist, unjust law of Myxon, when a husband dies, the father of the widow inherits the estate.”

“That’s awful.”

Daire shakes his head. “Indeed. That’s why I know Fairley will aid us.”

“How do you know?”

“Because she believes our father killed her husband.”

This will  be the last post on Eva and Daire. The story is running away from me, and I hope to turn it into something much bigger…


All written works are the property of K.J.Chapman

11 thoughts on “What’s Your Name? Letter F

  1. It really is flowing from you. So much in so little time! I love that Daire is devilishly cute. He’s always doing something to make poor Eva’s cheeks flush. I can’t wait to see where your story about Eva and Daire leads next, KJ!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A stunning ‘conclusion’ to a truly gorgeous story. I hope that there is more to discover some time in the future. For now, I am mesmerized by your ability to weave such beautiful stories with such vivid characters. You are a true inspiration 🙂
    I hope this week is less hectic for you. It’s truly generous of you to still post these stories despite your busy schedule. Remember to take time and be good to yourself 🙂
    Hope this week is less hectic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comments. I shall definitely be extending this story in some form.

      I’m not sure how this week will pan out as I have a lot planned, so the next few writing exercises may be much shorter 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

