Word Count Weekly #19

  • I have a five year old daughter.
  • School Christmas plays and parties have been non-stop.
  • I’m still recuperating after my wedding on the 11th.
  • I didn’t start my Christmas shopping until this week.

There you have my list of reasons…*excuses* for my shameful word count this week.

701 Words

It’s okay, though. I’ve been enjoying myself, enjoying family life, and getting in the Christmas spirit. 701 words will do.

I won’t hold out any promises for next week’s word count either. It’s Christmas week, so I shall be eating, drinking, and having a blast. I hope you all do too. Let’s all aim for a festive, merry week and low word counts.

And if you’re not feeling the Christmas spirit…giphy (57).gif

Excerpt from this week’s W.I.P:

I wear pyjamas. I haven’t worn pyjamas in weeks. They seem pointless, what if we need to run in a hurry? Pink, fluffy pyjamas with unicorns on them aren’t the most practical outlaw attire. I strip them off and chuck them into the corner. Instead, opting for jeans, a grey, knit sweater, and zip up boots. I fill a rucksack with more practical choices before climbing back into bed.

I just want to add a huge thank you to everyone who read my short stories and writing exercises this week. Your comments have been amazing, motivating, and uplifting. Your support is much appreciated.


 

All written works are the property of K.J.Chapman

GIF sourced from GIPHY.COM

8 thoughts on “Word Count Weekly #19

  1. That list is definitely not an excuse list! It shows a life filled with family, friends and partying! I hope you had an amazing week in everything you did! The new year will be with us soon and the writing can get stronger then. It is Christmas after all 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christmas is always a busy time, so congratulations on writing what you did! Christmas is one of those times when we should feel justified in putting aside our writing to celebrate with family & loved ones. Have a beautiful week filled with much joy and love! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I didn’t do any of the things on your list and I still got a lower word count than you! It’s a busy time and sometimes we all deserve a break!
    That excerpt was extremely good and at least you have SOME kind of writing going on. Merry Christmas and have a great rest of your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’m glad you too are enjoying the festivities. Exactly, we all deserve a break 🙂

      I’m happy with 701 words considering everything that has been going on, and I know next week’s word count won’t be that great. I’m nearing the end of my first draft now, so as soon as I finish, I can properly take a break before I start editing.

      Merry Christmas to you too. I hope you have a fantastic time. Thank you for your lovely comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

