Prompt Me #4

Prompt #4 comes from HyperActivePandemonium. It it is the first of three prompts created for me, and I shall tackle them over the next few weeks. You won’t regret checking out this blog! You will find writer musings, experiences, and short stories, so click that follow button!

The prompt:

It would be only a matter of time until he realised I had stolen his wife’s body and claimed it as my own. If he really loved her, he would tell the difference. Wouldn’t he?

 woman-918780_640Acquiring Toyah’s body was a test of my patience. I watched and waited, waited and watched. Her descent into depression, alcoholism, and drugs was slow, but turbulent. Zeke wasn’t watching, he wasn’t waiting, and Toyah’s cries went unheard.

I was there the first time she stood on the cliff, toying with the idea of jumping, but something made her return to her ever absent husband.

For a week I thought I had lost her. She showered every day, tipped the alcohol down the toilet, made meals, even started back at yoga. The old Toyah was fighting her way back, but I couldn’t allow that. I had grown accustomed to the idea of having her body; long legs, flat stomach, and chiseled cheek bones. At first it was about getting a body, any body, but now, it was solely about getting that body. Nothing else would compare. Yes, I wanted life, but I wanted a beautiful life.

It wasn’t hard to tilt her back over the edge; a gentle nudge toward the wedding album; a time when Zeke looked at her like she was the only thing he could see. A push toward the off license when she came out of the yoga hall. I was clawing it back, and Zeke was still unaware of his wife’s turmoil. Unaware or in denial, take your pick.

I was there again, the second and final time she stood on that same cliff. She wore the same pink, summer dress as before. I guess she wanted to die in it for some unknown reason. It wasn’t me who gave her the final push, though. Her phone buzzed, a text from Zeke- ‘Don’t wait up. I’m out with the work guys.’ She launched the phone, and then launched herself right after it.

She hit the squall of the waves below, tossed about like a dog’s chew toy. The impact of the wave crushing her skull against the rocks was the last moment of her miserable life, and I took advantage. I slipped into her being, tasting sea water on my new tongue, feeling the rush of blood in my new ears. You can never imagine the intensity of feeling the world for the first time.

Healing the damage to my new body was by far the hardest and worst experience of my new life. The complexity of giving life is as draining as it sounds. I had to use half my life force to restart her heart, and repair the damage to her brain and skull. Toyah was gone, and this body was finally mine.

I went back to my apartment, ate fruit from my fridge, showered in my shower, and waited for my husband to return from his night out. He slipped into bed and brushed a hand across my thigh. Did Toyah ignore his advances? The sensation of his cool, rough hand against my warm, soft skin was euphoric. Oh, how I had been missing out. How Toyah had allowed herself to miss out. Just the simple act of rolling into his embrace was enough for him to look me straight in the eyes.

“Where have you been? I’ve missed you,” he whispered.

My heart kicked against my rib cage. It was as if he was talking directly to me, not her. I tried to push thoughts of Toyah from my mind. It would be only a matter of time until he realised I had stolen his wife’s body and claimed it as my own. If he really loved her, he would tell the difference. Wouldn’t he?

“I’ve missed me too,” I said. “But I’m here now.”


If you would like to offer prompts for future posts, please check out the original post and leave a comment: Prompt Me

All excerpts are the works of K.J.Chapman.

Please request permission from the prompt creator for use of the prompt in this post.

12 thoughts on “Prompt Me #4

  1. Your talent astounds me! You have such a way with descriptions; they’re so vibrant and evocative. I felt breathless the entire time reading it. And the way you interpreted the prompt. Honestly mesmerizing! Beautiful and yet terrible at the same time! I would love to see this becomes a larger narrative. In your adept hands, I imagine it would be something stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, you’ve made my day. I’m glad you liked it. It was fun to write 🙂

      I would love to extend this, and maybe sometime in the future I will do part #2 of all the Prompt Me posts. I have so many novel ideas, but I’ve got to finish the EVO Nation series first (I’m writing book two now and there will be a third)… a writers life, eh? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

