Word Count Weekly #16

I may not have hit a similar word count target to last week’s 10k, but I have had a good week in general and that’s all that counts. First things first, I have hit a reasonable word count that I’m pleased with…

4012 Words

I’ve also been finalising wedding prep this week; spray painting decorations like the concept is going out of fashion, and a girly day of make-up testing on Thursday. Next week’s word count may be lower again due to the fact that my wedding is on December 11th, eek!

12313731_1076468465737903_5274154940506809865_nNot only has wedding prep consumed my week, but Christmas prep has kind of spiraled too. This weekend has been the only weekend we all have had time to put the decorations up together, so that’s exactly what we did! Decorations, Santa meet ‘n ‘ greets, and Christmas shopping have made the week a busy one.

As for my writing, I had a monumental brainwave on Tuesday. An ending idea exploded in my mind with little ghgjgwarning, and had the force of a lightning bolt. However, jumping around the room with excitement was quickly replaced with nausea and heart break. Yes, the idea is a good one (even if I do say so myself), but it’s going to be a killer to write. I’ll get the tissues ready.

As I fore-mentioned, next week is going to be hit and miss as I try to keep Bridezilla at bay. There will be a small blog hiatus planned from December 5th, so watch out for the blog post about that one.

Excerpt from this week’s W.I.P:

I start awake to screams and a swerving sensation in my stomach. Rio wrestles the wheel as we careen off the road and into undergrowth. Cooper’s full weight pins me to the chair, but I push him away, raise my hand, and force out a blast of energy. The windscreen shatters outwards in a splintering crash, and the van stops dead, its tail end rising, and then slamming to the ground with a brain rattling thud.

“Is everyone alright?” Rio asks, his voice shaking.

I feel every inch of my body to double check. “What the hell happened?”

“You just saved our asses that’s what,” says Brick. “Was that lightning?” Rio just nods, staring out at the smoking bonnet. “Isn’t that lucky or something?”

Pug pulls a gun from his waistband. “Lucky? Where the fuck did it come from?”

“The sky dumb ass,” Brick says, laughing.

“Hardy har. Don’t you think it’s a little coincidental that there’s not a cloud in the sky and a bunch of renegade EVO get struck by lightning? Everyone out, masks on, and be ready.”

I reach out my telepathy- silence apart from Kid singing along to ACDC in his head. “There’s no one except Kid for as far as my telepathy can reach.”

Pug chews at a hang nail, unsure of my ability and the reliability of what I said. “Just keep your heads out of your asses and be vigilant.”

I pull my mask over my face, open the door, and step out into the chilling air. Pug’s right, the sky is clear. Lightning is not a possibility.


 

All excerpts are the works of K.J.Chapman

 

8 thoughts on “Word Count Weekly #16

  1. Thank you. I’m hoping to get at least 1000 words written next week. That is my small, but hopefully attainable goal. I am having to schedule three blog posts ahead of time because I’ve decided on a week long hiatus over the wedding week for obvious reasons.

    Time is flying and leaving me behind- ahhh! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tissues for the ending of Book 2, eh? Now that’s a promise you’d better live up to! 😀
    I agree with Claire, I’m amazed you got any writing done with the wedding around the corner and the Christmas Prep. Your little one looks thrilled to be helping ^^

    Loved the excerpt! Even if I don’t know any of these people 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Another reader also asked who those characters are… I tweeted recently about having fun creating code names for new characters, and those are some of them 😉

      I still plan to be writing in trickles over the next 2 weeks, so we shall see. I won’t be doing a word count weekly on Sunday, and will instead cover both the Sunday after.

      I hope I can do the ending justice. I cried writing the ending of EVO Nation and I know I’ll cry writing this one 😦

      Like

  3. What a great excerpt! Very tense. Thanks for sharing that 🙂 I really need to get my hands on the first book…
    It is impressive that you’re managing to write and plan for a wedding.
    Good luck with wedding prep! I hope that you aren’t too stressed in these last few days. Take time to enjoy the build-up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I have a brill family, so wedding prep is going smoothly, and so much has been taken off of my hands.

      Glad you liked the excerpt. It was one of my favourites from this week’s WIP.

      And yes, I will try to enjoy the build up. I’m taking a blog hiatus for a week because I am a busy bee. My hen party is only 2 days before my wedding because I wanted my bestie there, of course 🙂 And my daughter’s crimbo play and disco is the day before- eek!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

