Prompt Me #2

This week’s prompt comes from Sarina over at Cookie Break. If you haven’t popped over to Cookie Break, please do. You won’t regret clicking that little follow button either. Sarina shares her writing experiences, musings, book reviews, and much, much more.

The Prompt:

The secret that, if revealed, would upset everything.

“It’s not like I asked him for much. I wanted to be loved, and I guess that’s harder for some, but we’ve all got the capacity, or so I thought. It’s a shell shocker when everything you think you know comes crashing about your ears. I feel like I’m still stepping over the pieces. I can hear the crunching beneath me, and every step is taking me away from the person I thought I was.”

She looks over her glasses at me; a cliche therapist move if ever I saw one. “Perhaps the person you thought you was has merely grown, moved on, learnt from experience. What do you think about the person you are today, in comparison to then?”

I lay my sweating hands against the cool plastic of the chair, and sit a little straighter. “I’m wiser.”

“Good.”

“You see, I don’t know if it is good. I’m judgmental, wary, isolated. I doubt I’ll ever be able to trust again. He broke my heart and opened my eyes at the same time and I don’t know which is worse?”

She closes her file and pushes her glasses onto the top of her greying mane. “Can I offer you a little advice, Libby? This is strictly off the record as what I’m about to say isn’t professional or kind.” I tilt my head in curiosity. “Sometimes people break our hearts- end of story. We are left with trust issues, commitment issues, but we get on with it because life goes on. We don’t go around stalking people, breaking into their houses, frightening their spouses half to death in the middle of the night. If you break your restraining order again, you’ll be looking at jail time. You need to let go, rid yourself from the burden of hurt that sits on your shoulders. Carl and Chantelle are happy, leave them be.”

Nothing I did compares to the hurt he caused me, and I was only trying to make him see that he still loved me,” I sob. “There’s a lot unsaid between us. I just need a chance to tell him by myself, but I can’t get near him.’ She makes it sound like I’m psychotic, like I did those things to harm Carl. I simply followed him to work to give him his birthday card. I didn’t break in to his house, our house. I used the key he always leaves in the shed to quickly get my mail, and as for scaring Chantelle, well, who cares? She deserves to rot in hell for what she did to my relationship. I can tell that this shrink is just like the others, pompous, unsympathetic, and has a superiority complex.

“I think we should pick this up again on Friday, Libby. I want you to think about the positive changes you have seen in yourself in the last three months. Write them down in your journal and we’ll discuss them together.”

I smile at her just as she expects me to, and shake her hand with a firm grip. “I will do. Thank you for today, and thank you for being honest with me, it really has helped,” I say.

She places a hand on my shoulder, and offers me a patronising smile. I’m not even lying, it really has helped. I’m going to rid myself of that burden of hurt. I’m going to drive a knife right into Chantelle’s heart, and I’m going to make Carl watch it all. I just have to decide whether to show her my scan picture first or would that just be cruel? I kind of want to see her face when she knows our secret. There’s no rush, I can decide on the way home. I’m quite hungry actually, I might stop by McDonalds first.

Sarina has offered me five prompts in total, so keep your eyes peeled for those future ‘Prompt Me’ posts.


If you would like to offer prompts for future posts, please check out the original post and leave a comment: Prompt Me

All excerpts are the works of K.J.Chapman.

Please request permission from the prompt creator for use of the prompt in this post.

14 thoughts on “Prompt Me #2

      1. Yes…
        My daughter: Mummy, what are you writing about?
        Me: Umm…unicorns, Sweetheart.

        She’s going to have a shock when she is finally old enough to read my books. ‘Unicorns my ass, mother!’

        Like

Leave a Reply

