Review: Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck 5/5

Blurb: Streetwise George and his big, childlike friend Lennie are drifters, searching for work in the fields and valleys of California. They have nothing except the clothes on their back, and a hope that one day they’ll find a place of their own and live the American dream. But dreams come at a price. Gentle giant Lennie doesn’t know his own strength, and when they find work at a ranch he gets into trouble with the boss’s daughter-in-law. Trouble so bad that even his protector George may not be able to save him …

I can’t believe I got to my twenty ninth year without reading Of Mice and Men! Of course, I had heard of it, but something kept me from reading it until one fateful day in the library. I was perusing the classics section and thought, ‘why not?’ After reading the novella, that thought quickly changed to, ‘why the hell didn’t I read this sooner?’ Needless to say, I loved it.

The vivid descriptions, brilliantly developed characters, strong relationship arcs, and realistic dialogue entranced me from the start. Steinbeck’s prose brought the story to life, and left me in awe. He creates simple complexity… is that even a thing? Well, it’s the only way I can describe it.

Set in the American depression during the 1930’s, the narrative follows George and his friend Lennie who travel town to town in search of manual work. They live a hand to mouth lifestyle in hopes of earning enough money to buy their own piece of land. Lennie is a giant of a man with the mind of a child and is dependant on George to look after him. George has always done just that, even though Lennie, despite all his good intentions, ends up in trouble wherever they go.

The swift ending is highly emotional, shocking, and well delivered. I was incredibly moved and had the story/ ending on my mind for a few days afterward. Steinbeck is now up there on my inspirational authors list!


The opinions expressed here are those of K.J.Chapman and no other parties.

All books reviewed on this blog have been read by K.J.Chapman

K.J.Chapman has not been paid for this review.

8 thoughts on “Review: Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

    1. I can’t believe I have never read it until now. My friend said that she wished she hadn’t read it as a teen and waited.??? If you do re-read, please let me know if you feel the same as her. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

