Word Count Weekly #13

It has been a strange, old week as far as my writing goes. I was writing less than one hundred words a day because something wasn’t sitting right with my narrative. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but something was holding me back, niggling at the back on mind.

I took a breather, got on with some of my writing exercises, and went back to the trusted pen and paper to jot down my narrative so far. As I was doing this something unbelievably obvious screamed out to me. One of my characters, who I had high hopes for, wasn’t pulling their weight, so I erased them; brutal, but effective. They were easy to erase from the narrative which says it all about their non-existent input into the story.

After this, I felt cleansed and sat down to write again… yet… something still wasn’t right.

Another day passed with no more than one hundred and fifty words written.  I was frustrated with myself and my characters, so like all good writers do, I decided to waste some time on Twitter.

It was when I was perusing the weird and wonderfulness of social media that I had a brainwave. It was one of those ‘grab the pen and don’t voice your excitement out loud in case you jinx the idea’ moments. It’s not monumental to my overall narrative, but it has given me the background I need to create those monumental moments further down the line.

Needless to say, my word count is pretty dismal this week, even after my sudden inspiration on Friday and Saturday.

1784 Words

On a plus note, I have written and scheduled most of my ‘Prompt Me’ posts for the next few weeks. If you would like to offer up a writing prompt for me to expand on just follow this link.

Excerpt from this week’s WIP:

 “Don’t try any EVO shit with me. This cage is programmed to sedate anyone with elevated kinetic output.” He points to black gun like devices swirling around the top of the cage. “They activate in case of emergency.” He back hands me across the face and the cut re-opens on impact.


Excerpts are the works of K.J.Chapman

6 thoughts on “Word Count Weekly #13

  1. I enjoy your posts on word count weekly; it gives an insight into a writers journey! It sounds like a tough week was had but this could mean next week your writing will be through the roof! I hate it when stories don’t sit right and it takes awhile to present itself! Glad you overcome it and look forward to reading the next word count post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on persevering despite struggles with inspiration. Narrative funks are definitely the worst. Sometimes it helps me to take a break from writing and plot out some different ideas, see if something fits and if it can fix my problems. Looking forward to reading those ‘Prompt Me’ posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I’m back in the swing of things now. Writing those prompts really helped change my perspective. The first one is this Tuesday and it’s one of your prompts, so keep your eyes peeled 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

