Raising Awareness for Bell’s Palsy, Ramsay Hunt Syndrome & MND: My Sister in Law’s Struggle

I know this isn’t my usual type of post, but what’s the point of having a blog if we can’t use it to promote awareness of serious health issues when we know those affected?

Meet my sister in law, Becky Chapman:

Becky is a twenty eight year old, mother of four from Essex, England. Becky was diagnosed with Bell’s Palsy at the age of four. She had two more episodes since her initial diagnosis at the age of eleven, and then again at sixteen.

Bell’s Palsy is part of the herpes virus that can lie dormant, but be triggered by illness, stress, and by coming into contact with chicken pox, and measles. The sufferer can experience facial paralysis, loss of taste, ear pain, eye problems, slurred speech, reduced sense of taste, numbness, and sensitivity to sound.

Now, Becky has been diagnosed with Ramsay Hunt Syndrome brought on by shingles in her inner ear. Ramsay Hunt Syndrome has similar symptoms to Bell’s Palsy, and has caused Becky motor neuron issues. Becky has her worst case of facial paralysis to date. The duration of the symptoms can be from weeks to months, and can cause long term damage.

In her video, Becky bravely tells the world what she is going through and the struggles she is facing. She also expresses empathy to those who suffer with the symptoms on a daily basis, and has started fundraising!

Please watch Becky’s heart felt, courageous video to raise awareness of these illnesses: Support Becky and Raise Awareness

Here is the link for Becky’s fundraising page: Fundraising for Bell’s Palsy, Ramsay Hunt Syndrome & MND

Thank you all for your support and for taking the time to read this important post!

9 thoughts on “Raising Awareness for Bell’s Palsy, Ramsay Hunt Syndrome & MND: My Sister in Law’s Struggle

  1. My heart goes out to your sister-in-law and everyone affected by this. I can’t go to her fundraising page at the moment because I’m at work but I’ll have a look in the morning. Thank you for shedding light onto this and bringing it to our attention – you’re very right, what are blogs for if we can’t use them to bring things like these to people’s attention?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Her video has had over 8000 views in one day, so she’s turning it into something positive. Hoping she’ll get better soon, but like she says, there are people who will never recover. I’m glad I can help her spread awareness.

      Thanks again.

      Like

      1. Always happy to further research into health and mental health problems! I can’t give much but I’m happy to give a little bit 🙂 All the best to her and everyone affected, be that people affected themselves or their families and friends. Something like this is always hard for everyone, but it looks like she’s got a wonderful family supporting her 🙂

        Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the post. I had Ramsay Hunt about 10 years ago with Bell’s Palsy on the right side of my face. One of the more terrifying months of my life. Fortunately I healed fairly quickly..some people are not so lucky.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries, I’m glad to highlight unknown/ unheard of illnesses if I can.

      My sister in law is on the mend now, but suffers with bells palsy also (has done since she was a child). She has raised much more money than she thought for a motor neuron disease charity and her video went viral.

      I’m happy to be part of helping her raise awareness 🙂

      Like

  3. These types of posts really resonate with me. It’s easy to forget how lucky you are until you fall ill, or when someone you love falls ill with debilitating diseases such as these. Thank you so much for sharing, and I will do my part to try to get the word out there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

