Tip Share #4

The fourth tip that I wanted to share with you all is a simple, but useful tip when writing that first draft.

‘Don’t fuss over the details. Stopping to figure out the exact size of bullet needed for a certain gun can put a dampener on creativity and hinder your flow. Keep writing, jot a note to remind you to research at a later date, and get that first draft down. Editing is called editing for a reason.’

This tip stems from experience. I have pages of scribbles in my notebook reminding me to find out specific, factual information that I don’t know off the top of my head. I prefer not to dwell on the details until the editing stage, otherwise I switch from the creative to the logical side of my brain and lose my train of thought.

5 thoughts on “Tip Share #4

  1. Thank you for sharing such an amazing tip. It can be so easy to get lost in the finer details rather than enjoying the flow of the words and creating a story.

    Sometimes it can be hard to ignore the urge for the details but it is much more rewarding to get the story out.

    Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I, too, am a stickler for details, but I’ve spent years never completing a first draft and had to change my way of thinking.

      It is so hard when your personality type means you want to know every detail… I just tell myself that I will know every detail during editing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to fuss over everything when I was writing but I tried to take a step back with my draft for rise of the Sparrows. Ignoring all the red highlighting on spelling errors or moving on after a difficult chapter wasn’t easy but it works brilliantly. I know I’ll come back to things in the edit, and I think allowing yourself to make mistakes is actually really liberating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

