Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury 4/5

Blurb: Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court. She’s the executioner. As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla’s fatal touch, avoids her company. But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla’s been promised to the prince, and knows what happens to people who cross the queen. However, a treasonous secret is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies, a plan that requires a stomach-churning, unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favour of a doomed love?

My Review:

As you can tell from the 4/5 stars I gave this book, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have to admit that I wasn’t expecting a great read. I was recommended this book by a friend and informed that there was a distinct lack of action, something I usually look for in books I read. However, the story did not suffer from this lack of action, but suited it extremely well. Not all enemies can be fought by force alone.

Twylla developed throughout the narrative from a naive, gullible girl to a woman who questions her world, her life, and the truth about her role as the Daunen Embodied. The love triangle she finds herself in the middle of is well written, and at times I found myself struggling to choose who I was rooting for: Merek or Lief, although, Twylla seemed to have her heart set on one man from the beginning. All the characters were well rounded, and I could understand everyone’s motives whether I agreed with them or not.

There was an obvious reference to religion and the power that comes from it. In Twylla’s case, her religion keeps her obedient, subdued, and in denial. That is until she discovers the truth and hypocrisy. The truth shatters her beliefs, her world, her destiny, and she needs to step up to claim her own future.

The ending had a lump in my throat, and I shared in every one of Twylla’s emotions. The last one hundred or so pages were so captivating and revealing that I read them in one sitting. However, I would have appreciated more of a cliff-hanger ending. This book could stand alone, but as it is a series, I think leaving it open would have been more beneficial, hence my 4 stars.

I would definitely recommend this book, and look forward to reading more of Melinda Salisbury’s work.


The opinions expressed here are those of K.J.Chapman and no other parties.

All books reviewed on this blog have been read by K.J.Chapman

K.J.Chapman has not been paid for this review.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Leave a Reply

