Friday Fun: Gifts of a Writer and Geek

Last Saturday, I entered into the last year of my twenties. I literally woke up and thought, ‘how the hell did that happen?’ I remember celebrating my eighteenth just last year… surely… no, eleven years ago… WOW.

I quickly got over the shock of my disappearing youth when I opened my gifts. I was truly spoilt throughout the day, but I think this picture captures the writer and geek in me. My friends and family know me too well.

Dr Who and Potter fans will appreciate my excitement at opening these beauties. My love of notebooks has now meshed with my love of Potter thanks to Mr O and my daughter. They can also be thanked for the snitch necklace (it is quite heavy, so we plan on turning it into a Christmas tree ornament), and the coolest alarm clock EVER! I get woken by the sound of the Tardis, and I can press a little button and have the time illuminated on my ceiling… <I’m like a pig in shit>.

My Tardis salt and pepper shakers are NOT to be used, and have pride of place on my kitchen window sill beside my chicken calendar. Other people may shake their heads, or call me immature, but I say, ‘my house, my stuff, my life, my business.’

If you have an inner geek, let it loose! It’s more fun that way, I promise.

4 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Gifts of a Writer and Geek

  1. Your gifts are amazing! I’m glad to see you got spoiled on your birthday ^^ I can definitely appreciate the excitement you must have felt when opening these! And I can appreciate you not wanting to use the salt and pepper shakers – they definitely deserve an honorary spot in your kitchen! Being woken up by the sound of the Tardis is probably the coolest alarm clock I’ve ever heard of, what a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

