Quotes of the Week, August 24th 2015

Happiness is the theme this week. I want people to be happy, is that such a bad thing? If you’re not happy, make a change!

‘Don’t educate your child to be rich. Educate him to be happy, so when he grows up he knows the value of things not the price.’ ~ Author Unknown

Society values money over happiness. At school we’re educated to have high-flying jobs, not jobs that make us happy. Not one teacher taught me that happiness is what matters. It’s sad, but true.

There is a particular period in my school life, at around age sixteen, when I felt pressured in the wrong direction. I embarked on a business studies course because, and I quote, ‘You are more likely to make a decent salary in a business environment.’

I took the business studies into higher education, and graduated with an abundance of qualifications. Then, I went to work in an office, and hated it; hated it with every ounce of my being. I became a carer on a lower income and loved every minute of it. My happiness meant more to me than a fat pay packet.

‘Happiness is letting go of what you think your life is supposed to look like and celebrating it for everything that it is.’ ~ Mandy Hale

It’s funny how we have preconceptions of a life we haven’t lived before. We get one shot, one chance to experience life, and one opportunity to appreciate what we have. Enjoy yourself.

Leave a Reply

