Organising My Mind

birds nest hair blog

I’m a fairly organised person, but I have to admit that it takes a lot of work on my part to be so. When I feel out of control, I get stressed, and I do not handle stress well. Some people thrive on stress, produce their best work under pressure, but that is far from true for me.

When my mind is a whirl with day to day tasks, up and coming birthdays, story ideas, and what to cook for tea, I write lists; lots and lots of lists in my many, many notebooks.

I have an obsession with buying pretty notebooks. They are my sanity. Writing, for me, is therapeutic. Whether it is jotting down a story idea, or writing a shopping list, I get to empty my mind onto paper, and it’s my way to control things.

My lists extend to my calendar, or should I say, Family Organiser? It is not your ordinary, run of the mill, calendar. It is extremely large, has sections for each family member, and it is my lifeline. The rule in my house is, ‘If it’s not on the calendar it’s not happening’.

I’m finicky about my calendars, and my other half buys me one for Christmas every year. I say buys me one… he gives me the money, I pick my own, and he wraps it. Yep, I can’t be doing with any old basic calendar. Oh lord, I sound like a crazy woman.

Planning is the only aspect of my life that I get OCD about. My house can be a tip, my daughter can be running around in a princess costume and wellie boots, but as long as my day to day life and writing time is organised, I’m a cool cucumber.

4 thoughts on “Organising My Mind

  1. Whatever works, yo.

    Everyone has their own way. This just happens to be yours. 🙂

    Mine is not so much like that. I have reminders on my phone calendar, but I don’t get stressed when things don’t go exactly as I planned them. They never do anyway, so I’ve learned to take it in stride and let the universe lead me in spontaneity. But that’s just what works for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

