A Week In My Shoes

The holidays are much more exciting than school runs and word counts, so I decided to share a glimpse of my life over the course of seven days.

My weekly word count posts are now to become my Sunday feature posts, hence why there is not a single mention of my writing in this post. This is all family fun, and my real life.

Monday:

Today was a family day. The sun came out for us… eventually. We went to Porthleven (Cornwall) to visit family, and took Sophie rock pooling and crabbing. We only caught a shell… but we had fun all the same.

My daughter’s new favourite thing is ‘Pom Pom Wars’. It all started when we were crafting, and she chucked a pom pom at me. Two hundred pom poms later, we were in hysterics, and my house was covered. She requested another pom pom wars game on Monday, and we obliged. I would recommend this game for little kids and big kids. You heard it here first!

Tuesday:

We had our Notice of Marriage appointment at 11.30, and got to look around the wedding venue after. The registrar even put music on, so my daughter could get the feel for walking down the aisle as a bridesmaid. It is all so exciting- eeekkk!

Tuesday was an exciting day in more ways than one. We added two new faces to our little family. Meet Juno and Lavender, our dwarf hamsters-

These miniature sweethearts have a love hate relationship. They sleep entwined with each other, enjoy each other’s company, and then push each other down the tunnels, and the vertical pipes. Definitely siblings!

Date night was on Tuesday this week. We’re saving money for our wedding, so we stayed in, put Sophie to bed, and watched Insurgent. I was, of course, in batman pyjamas.

Wednesday:

Wednesday was another family day. We went to my Nana’s house for tea like we do every Wednesday during the school holidays. It was cloudy, but humid, so we decided to get productive, well, semi-productive. We painted my Nana’s garden furniture, and then realised we used the wrong outside paint…<deep breath>

Thursday:

Cornwall woke up to rain on Thursday, but that didn’t stop us. A soggy outing to our local boating lake kept Sophie entertained for the morning. I think the ducks and swans liked our choice of bread. It was like a scene from ‘The Birds’ at one point.

The afternoon was quiet and lazy as the weather steadily got worse. We watched films, played Lego, and got crafty to pass the day away.

Friday:

Today was mine and Mr O’s fourteen year anniversary. We decided on a trip to Roskillys, Cornwall. It’s a beautiful farm with free petting facilities, a restaurant, homemade Cornish ice cream, bee hives, nature walks, and much more. We spent the whole morning there and spent no more than £6.80! Roskillys is nestled in the Cornish countryside, and is a must- see for visitors to Cornwall.

Friday’s are our library days. Sophie was especially excited this week because she has finished another two books as part of the Summer Reading Challenge. She was particularly happy with this week’s stickers for her wall chart. Only another two books (two weeks) and she’ll have completed this years challenge.

I just have to share a photo of my anniversary treats from Mr O. Check out my new mug. He knows me too well… and of course, there is a massive bar of Galaxy to dip in the tea I shall fill my new mug with. Proper job, Mr O.

Saturday:

Sophie has been desperate to help with the wedding plans, and I gave her her first official bridesmaid duty today. What’s more important than the wedding fund? It definitely deserves a pretty pot of its own. I think she did a brilliant job.

Today we saw family members who have travelled to Cornwall from Kent for a weeks holiday. Of course, the conversation was all about weddings! Fingers crossed that the weather plays ball for them.

Sunday:

Dump day! Not in the bowel movement sense, but in the refuse and recycling centre sense. We have been waiting for ages to clear our garage, and Sunday was the day. I’m not one for waste, but our centre has fantastic recycling facilities… <Happy K.J>

Sophie got to pick the activity for Sunday, and she settled on scooting through the National Trust estate – Penrose.  The weather remained dry for us, and I think everyone had the same idea. There were lots of children on bikes and scooters, lots of dogs, and Sophie even saw an enormous beetle. It was a morning well spent.


Check out similar blog posts, writer’s musings, and a bit of fun at: K.J.Chapman

All images are the property of K.J.Chapman

3 thoughts on “A Week In My Shoes

Leave a Reply

