Word Count Weekly #1

Last week ended on a writing downer. In my post, Summer Holidays Writing Hell,  I summed up the struggle I was experiencing in trying to balance family life and my writing goals during the holidays.

Then, fellow blogger, and summer holiday writing hell sufferer, Claire over at Art and Soul, suggested that we both agree to a schedule, a contract if you will. We agreed to a 400 words per day (2800 per week) schedule to get out of our writing slump.

400 words may not seem much, but it is an achievable goal for the holidays that I could, on occasion, surpass. That, in itself, will give me a sense of accomplishment, and knowing I will be letting Claire down if I don’t stick to our agreed schedule is another, much needed, kick up the backside.

So, how did I fare in my first week of the schedule? 5606 words; 2806 words over target. Needless to say, I am on a writing high this week.

Break down:

  • Monday- 1071 words
  • Tuesday- 899 words
  • Wednesday- 531 words
  • Thursday- 651 words
  • Friday- 1303 words
  • Saturday- 574 words
  • Sunday- 576 words

Excerpt from my writing this week:

“Don’t you dare try to justify yourself. That can’t be undone. If you point a gun in my sister’s face, you better have a spine to go with it.”

“She is not your sister! You need protecting from her. You all need protecting from the pair of them. We will all die, and these two-” She thrusts a hand into my chest, shoving me backwards into Jude, “These two will be stood on top of our bones.”

(Certain character names have been omitted- no spoilers here.)

I don’t expect every week to be as fruitful as this one, but I will be happy as long as I achieve my 400 words per day. Only time will tell. A four year old, no school for another three weeks, housework, wedding planning, and having to appreciate the sunshine when we have it, will be testing, but I’m up for it.


Book One in the EVO Nation Series: EVO Nation

All excerpts are the works of K.J.Chapman

2 thoughts on “Word Count Weekly #1

  1. WOW! You can take next week off!

    OK, my efforts now look a bit dismal 😉

    I haven’t done today’s words yet, but in 6 days I’ve written 2504, so “only” 300 words to do before bed tonight. And I have started getting the sudden attacks of inspiration again, which is great.

    I’m going to try and stick with the 400 words a day because it’s achievable and motivating 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have done brilliantly. My other half is back to work today after a week on holiday, so I doubt this week will be a productive writing week for me, entertaining the little one solo. I will still aim for my 400 words per day 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

