Quotes of the Week August 3rd 2015

Happy Monday!

As a writer, I’m partial to a quote or two. Hence, why I do these posts every Monday. My favourite quotes are those from books. There is nothing better than reading a sentence or description and falling in love with it.

This next quote is my ultimate favourite quote from the Charlotte Bronte Classic, Jane Eyre.

“I have a strange feeling with regard to you. As if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly knotted to a similar string in you. And if you were to leave I’m afraid that cord of communion would snap. And I have a notion that I’d take to bleeding inwardly. As for you, you’d forget me.”

Mr Rochester says this to Jane Eyre to describe his feelings towards her. As a teenager I swooned over this quote, and as a twenty eight year old I still swoon over it. It is understated, but the only quote I have read that sums up love in five sentences.

My second choice is from another of my teenage favourites, Little Women by Louisa Alcott. Perhaps, my most memorable quotes are from books I read during my teen years because I was opening myself up to the world and using books as the key. These books had an impact on me then, and still do to this day.

“There are many Beths in the world, shy and quiet, sitting in corners till needed, and living for others so cheerfully that no one sees the sacrifices till the little cricket on the hearth stops chirping, and the sweet, sunshiny presence vanishes, leaving silence and shadow behind.”  

I think we all need to look outside ourselves, and appreciate everyone in our life who is there for us unconditionally. As the quote says, ‘no one sees the sacrifices till the little cricket on the hearth stops chirping’. This quote is important. Life is not infinite, people are not infinite, and we should appreciate our little crickets while we still have a chance to tell them just how much we do.

7 thoughts on “Quotes of the Week August 3rd 2015

  1. Quotes from books are my favourites as well, but sadly I don’t remember too many memorable moments from my teenage years! I think my choice in books has changed a bit since then and I don’t write them down as often as I should, but when I come across something which makes me pause I figure it’s a pretty good quote!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I noticed quotes more when I was a teen. Perhaps, because I was subconsciously looking for something? As I have gotten older my tastes have changed except for those two books. I could, and have, read those books over and over 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Quick story about a cricket:
    I was sweeping my porch yesterday morning and as I did this, I heard a cricket chirping to the rhythm of my sweeps. I would sweep and the cricket would chirp. I would sweep and the cricket would chirp.

    To prove to myself that it wasn’t coincidental timing, I even stopped sweeping and changed the rhythm of my sweeping (faster and slower). Every time I changed my rhythm, the cricket changed as it chirped to match me.

    So now I’m wondering if that cricket somehow thought I was trying to communicate with him, or if the universe was just trying to show me something positive to make up for the bird that angry chirps at me every time I walk to my credit union. That bird even swoops down at me occasionally. And this morning, he even got two other birds to angry chirp at me. Nature, yo. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

