A Day To Be Inspired

Longing ~ Matthew Arnold (1822 – 1888)

Come to me in my dreams, and then

By day I shall be well again.

For then the night will more than pay

The hopeless longing of the day.

*

Come as thou carn’st a thousand times

A messenger from the radiant climes,

And smile on thy new world, and be

As kind to others as to me.

*

Or, as thou never carn’st in sooth,

Come now, and let me dream it truth.

And part my hair, and kiss my brow,

And say – My love! why sufferest thou?

*

Come to me in my dreams, and then

By day I shall be well again.

For then the night will more than pay

The hopeless longing of the day.

I have a feeling that today shall be a productive writing day. This poem perfectly sums up a chapter I’m working on in my novel. Talk about a lightening bolt of inspiration!

Leave a Reply

