EVO Nation Series

In this post I shall introduce my debut novel, EVO Nation, the first book in the EVO Nation Series. I am currently writing book two, and I’m sure to create blog posts regarding my current journey writing the sequel, so I thought I’d give some background on book one.

EVO Nation is a young adult, science fiction and fantasy novel. A particular favourite genre of mine to read, and evidently to write. The process from starting the first draft to self- publishing on Amazon Kindle took about nine months.

Here is the link to EVO Nation on Amazon Kindle (check out the ‘look inside’ feature to read the first few chapters and get a feel for the story.) Find EVO Nation by K.J. Chapman

The blurb:

The government tortures her, her own kind uses her, and she is learning the true meaning of ulterior motives. Teddie Leason has been dragged into the festering underbelly of the secretive world of EVO. A world about to be blown wide apart.

Now, the reclusive teenager who couldn’t get upset without her unruly ability causing destruction has to somehow embrace her gift to save her new friends and her new love.

Will the actions of one man fuel a suppressed, supremacist society’s thirst for war and vengeance, or will Teddie be strong enough to stop him?

EVO Nation is set within current society, and pushes the limits of human and social morality. I have read a mountain of dystopian novels that are currently on the market and I enjoy them immensely, but I decided to write a world within our current world to hopefully appeal to readers searching for a realistic, present day take on the science fiction genre in today’s young adult market.

I’m a stickler for habit and write all my novels in my tried and tested method that involves as little planning/ outlining as possible…(gasps). However, I do have a concept, character ideas, and plot twists whirling around in my head for a few weeks before I sit down to write. In my opinion, I work better without detailed outlines, and I like discovering the journey my characters take me on.

Check out my blog post, Writing and Me, for my writing habits and peculiarities.

Here are some of the rules I did set myself when I first embarked on EVO Nation’s first draft:

1. Teddie Leason was not going to be a damsel in distress…(barf). Feminism has happened folks! I wanted her to be human, real, flawed, but not weak. I hope reader’s think I rose to the challenge on this one.

2. I wanted well rounded characters who had their own minds. This meant that when it came to writing their stories, I had to let them talk to me and not the other way around. I wanted their reactions, dialogue, actions, to be in keeping with their personalities.

3. There was always going to be a plot twist- I left certain areas of the story open to develop a plot twist later on. I didn’t pre-plan my plot twist, it developed over the course of my first draft. It felt more natural to allow it to develop and unravel on its own accord.

4. I wanted Teddie to have a love interest. This is purely because I wanted a sub-plot to run alongside, and interweave with the main plot, and more importantly… I’m a sucker for a good romance.

It was incredibly nerve wracking when I first self-published EVO Nation on Amazon Kindle. More nerve wracking knowing my book, my baby, was out in the world for criticism.

However, I have received great feedback from readers. My most recent feedback/ review was posted to my Facebook page: K.J.Chapman on Facebook (all new likers welcome).

Latest review for EVO Nation:

Seriously what an amazing book. Right away you’re sucked into a roller-coaster storyline filled with characters you can’t help but relate to and love.. But also one you love to hate and can’t wait to see them get a damn good comeuppance! And oh what fantastically satisfying comeuppances K, Chapman dishes out!!
Evo nation is the sort of book that makes you want to abandon every day life in favour of a comfy chair and silence (and the book of course!) , the kind of book that makes you read till your eyes feel like they’re going to shrivel up!
A sassy, addictive read! Can’t wait for the sequel! If you haven’t already read it, get on with it!

Knowing that readers are appreciating my story and characters gives me an immense sense of achievement. If people enjoy reading EVO Nation as much as I enjoyed writing it, then I’m doing something right.

I aim to have book two of the EVO Nation Series (title yet to be confirmed) published on Amazon Kindle by the end of 2015. Between now and then, I shall create update posts on my sequel writing journey.

Happy Thursday

3 thoughts on “EVO Nation Series

  1. *sigh* And another one for my reading list! Don’t you know it’s dangerously tall already? I guess one more can’t hurt..

    We seemingly write in exactly the same way, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this when I finally get around to it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

