Narrative Prompts

brain storming

A narrative prompt can be a snippet of dialogue, action, story, or even an image that motivates and inspires the writer to extend on the prompt, brainstorm ideas, and generally kick start creativity.

I have seen some fascinating narrative prompts on my internet travels and thought it would be fun to create some of my own.

1.

It is snowing in August. Not just snowing, but a full blown blizzard. The air feels wrong, thick in my lungs as if it is laced with something artificial. Then, I hear the siren.

2.

3.

“What’s in there? What did you see?”

“It’s not what I saw, but what I heard. Grandpa told me to leave.”

“Grandpa’s dead.”

“Yeah, I know.”

4.

She’s the third person today to tell me I look tired. How can I still be tired after fourteen hours sleep? I stick my hand in my pocket and pull out a napkin with a phone number written on it. This isn’t possible. Joel gave me this napkin last night… in my dream.

5.

6.

“This is fantastic. Do you know what this means?”

“It means I have finally gone insane. It was only a matter of time.”

“No, it means that Mum was telling the truth. Our Dad wasn’t technically a human.”

7.

A desert stretches out ahead of us. Only, we’re stood on a Cornish beach surrounded by hundreds of other gawping onlookers. Where has the sea gone?

8.

“Do you see that woman at the bus stop, the one with the head scarf?”

“Yep, what about her?”

“Well, that is an issue. You shouldn’t be able to see her.”

9.

10.

The ticket woman looks at me like I’m a crazy person. “The year is 2030.”

I laugh in her face. How can I go to the cinema in 2015, fall asleep, and wake up fifteen years later?

I have thoroughly enjoyed writing this post. Feel free to use any of the prompts above, and I’d be intrigued to know what you come up with.

16 thoughts on “Narrative Prompts

  1. I love writing prompts! And this has reminded me of something we used to do in primary school – all of us kids had to write three words onto three small strips of paper, and then all of us had to draw three new strips at random and create a small story with those words. Don’t you just miss school sometimes? (rarely?) You’ve given me an idea here, thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

