Quotes of the Week- July 13th 2015

blog quotes

I’m a sucker for good quote. The power of words is incredible. Hence, why I have decided to choose two quotes each week for my ‘Quotes of the Week’ blog post.

This week I have chosen writing quotes, and next week…who knows? That’s all part of the fun.

Let’s get the ball rolling with a Victor Hugo quote~

‘A writer is a world trapped in a person.’

This quote sums up my feelings exactly. Did you ever feel like characters, plot twists, new worlds, are all but sprouting from your head like vines? I have to write to empty my mind, to give my characters a voice, and in summary… to keep me sane.

My second choice is, of course,  a Jane Austen quote~

‘I was quiet, but I was not blind.’

Writers must observe. I have to admit that I am not particularly quiet, but I observe. Listening to natural dialogue, or witnessing subtle body languages can all aid in writing believable worlds and characters.

There you have it- my two quotes of the week. What are yours?

3 thoughts on “Quotes of the Week- July 13th 2015

Leave a Reply

