Library Love

library blog three

*All Images sourced from Pinterest.

More and more I’m hearing of libraries closing their doors or having to reduce their opening days each week. This makes my heart hurt.

Why are fewer people using libraries? It’s beyond me.

I still use the same library that my Mum took me to as a child, and now I take my own daughter there. We are on first name terms with the librarians as they have known my daughter from about sixteen weeks old. It’s like a home away from home. Every Friday I spend an hour or more perusing, and in my daughters case, reading and colouring in.

I know it is probably easier to download a book to your laptop or kindle than to visit your local library, but in my opinion your missing out.

library blog

I could not have put it any better. There is a community associated with libraries; children’s sessions, author talks, book signings to name a few, but at the same time you can find solitude and escape. It’s quite literally a building full of FREE books- simply heaven!

I never grew out of the library magic I experienced as a child. The cool thing is that libraries and books grow with you. I can only hope that my daughter will look back on her childhood years and be thankful that her parents made the library part of her life.

One thought on “Library Love

  1. It’s lovely that you still go to the same library now as the one your mother took you to when you were a child! And that you can show it to your own daughter now makes it all the more special.
    It’s sad that libraries are closing. I have to admit, I have bought more books recently for our kindle, simply because we don’t have the room in our house to store all the books I want to read. I have big parting issues with books I loved and can’t just give them away. However, I do prefer real books, having a digital copy won’t ever be the same. I’m lucky enough to work in a library and get all the benefits of being allowed to take out up to 25 books at a time! The bliss!

    Like

Leave a Reply

